Best Cribs (2026): Convertible, Mini, and What the CPSC Crib Standard Requires
Nine full-size and mini cribs compared on conversions, mattress heights and size, plus what the federal crib standard requires and CPSC's checklist for a used crib.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Every crib made or sold in the US since June 28, 2011 must meet the federal crib standard, which ended drop-side cribs. For a plain convertible, the Graco Benton (to a full bed) or Delta Children Essex; for four mattress heights and a toddler kit in the box, the Babyletto Hudson. For a small room, the Delta folding mini crib comes with its own mattress.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1Top pickGraco Benton 5-in-1 Convertible Crib$199.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The straightforward full-size convertible, through to a full bed.
- 2Budget optionDelta Children Essex 4-in-1 Convertible Crib$176.52 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A clean-lined convertible with angled pine legs, if you don't need a full-bed stage.
- 3Also considerBabyletto Hudson 3-in-1 Convertible Crib$399.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The design-led pick, and the only full-size crib here that ships with its toddler kit.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| Graco Benton 5-in-1 Convertible Crib | Delta Children Essex 4-in-1 Convertible Crib | Babyletto Hudson 3-in-1 Convertible Crib | DaVinci Kalani 4-in-1 Convertible Crib | DaVinci Jenny Lind 3-in-1 Convertible Crib | Storkcraft Pasadena 3-in-1 Convertible Crib | Dream On Me Synergy 5-in-1 Convertible Crib | Delta Children Folding Portable Mini Crib with Mattress | Dream On Me 2-in-1 Portable Mini Crib | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $199.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $176.52 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $399.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $249.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $199.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $179.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $122.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $126.32 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $161.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -The listing doesn't say how many mattress heights it has | -The toddler guardrail (0094) is sold separately | -3-in-1 only: no full-size bed stage | -The toddler kit (M3099), full-size kit (M4799) and bunkie board are all sold separately | -The toddler kit (M3199) is sold separately | -The listing doesn't state the number of mattress heights | -The guardrail, stabilizer and full-size rails are all sold separately | -A mini crib: your child outgrows it sooner than a full-size crib | -No toddler bed conversion |
This guide compares nine cribs for parents furnishing a nursery, and explains the federal standard so you can check a hand-me-down. Every crib sold new in the US has to meet the same standard, so the choice comes down to size, mattress heights and conversions: the Graco Benton or Delta Children Essex for a plain convertible, the Babyletto Hudson for four heights and an included toddler kit, a folding mini for a small room.
How we chose: each crib is sold by Amazon.com and was in stock in September 2026; conversions, mattress heights, dimensions and certifications are the listings' or brands', and we did not test these cribs. We searched CPSC's recall database for every brand, as well as our own database of recalls since 2023.
Nine cribs by conversion and mattress heights
| Crib | Type | Converts to | Mattress heights | Weight | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graco Benton | Full-size | Toddler bed, daybed, full bed (kits extra) | Not stated | 42 lbs | Amazon.com | $199.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
| Delta Children Essex | Full-size | Toddler bed, daybed, sofa | 3 | 45 lbs | Amazon.com | $176.52 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Babyletto Hudson | Full-size | Toddler bed (kit included), daybed | 4 | 53 lbs | Amazon.com | $399.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
| DaVinci Kalani | Full-size | Toddler bed, daybed, full bed (kits extra) | 4 | 56 lbs | Amazon.com | $249.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
| DaVinci Jenny Lind | Full-size | Toddler bed, daybed (kit extra) | 4 | 37 lbs | Amazon.com | $199.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
| Storkcraft Pasadena | Full-size | Toddler bed, daybed (rails extra) | Not stated | 34 lbs | Amazon.com | $179.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Dream On Me Synergy | Full-size | Toddler bed, daybed, full bed (rails extra) | 3 | 35 lbs | Amazon.com | $122.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
| Delta Children folding mini | Mini, mattress included | No | 2 | 35.5 lbs | Amazon.com | $126.32 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
| Dream On Me 2-in-1 mini | Mini, mattress included | No | 2 | 30.5 lbs | Amazon.com | $161.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
Weights are the shipping or product weights on each listing. The full-size cribs come without a mattress; our crib mattress guide covers what to put in them.
What the federal crib standard requires
The rule changed in 2011. In CPSC's words, "Beginning June 28, 2011, all cribs manufactured and sold (including resale) must comply with new and improved federal safety standards." CPSC's questions and answers on the new crib standard says the rules "prohibit the manufacture or sale of traditional drop-side rail cribs, strengthen crib slats and mattress supports, improve the quality of hardware and require more rigorous testing."
The standard for full-size baby cribs is now codified at 16 C.F.R. part 1219 and incorporates ASTM F1169. A full-size crib has "interior dimensions of 28 ± 5/8 inches (71 ± 1.6 centimeters) in width x 52 3/8 ± 5/8 inches (133 ± 1.6 centimeters) in length." CPSC lists requirements for slat construction, spacing of crib components, hardware and fasteners, and tests of the mattress support system and slat strength.
Non-full-size cribs, including mini and portable cribs, have their own rule at 16 C.F.R. part 1220. CPSC defines them by size: an interior length "either greater than 139.7 cm (55 in.) or smaller than 126.3 cm (49 ¾ in.)," or a width outside the full-size range.
Your part is to assemble the crib exactly as the instructions say, keep the hardware tight, check for recalls and keep it bare.
Checking a used crib
Older cribs were built to older rules. CPSC's crib safety tips give a checklist. There should be:
- "A firm, tight-fitting mattress so a baby cannot get trapped between the mattress and the crib."
- "No missing, loose, broken or improperly installed screws, brackets or other hardware on the crib or mattress support."
- "No more than 2 3/8 inches (about the width of a soda can) between crib slats so a baby's body cannot fit through the slats; no missing or cracked slats."
- "No corner posts over 1/16th inch high so a baby's clothing cannot catch."
- "No cutouts in the headboard or foot board so a baby's head cannot get trapped."
Two more checks come from the 2011 rule. Don't use a drop-side crib: CPSC says "a drop side crib, even with an immobilizer installed, will not meet the new CPSC crib standards." And find the manufacture date on the label; a crib made before June 28, 2011 was built before the current standard.
Then search the brand and model in our recall checker or on CPSC's site.
Three crib recalls and what they involved
- Drop sides, 2008 to 2011. Several of today's big brands recalled drop-side cribs before the ban, among them Stork Craft, which in 2009 recalled more than 2.1 million drop-side cribs for entrapment and suffocation hazards.
- Mattress support brackets, 2015. CPSC announced, then expanded, a recall of DaVinci-brand cribs made from May through December 2012, including the Jenny Lind (model M7391). CPSC said a metal bracket connecting the mattress support "can break, creating an uneven sleeping surface or a gap." The model number, serial number and manufacture date are on a label on the crib.
- Slat spacing, 2024. CPSC recalled South Shore cribs because "the spacing between some of the crib's slats is wider than allowed under the federal safety standard."
CPSC's database shows no recall of the current models on our list, and our database of recalls since 2023 has none for these brands' cribs. The DaVinci recall covered cribs made in 2012, so it matters only if you're offered an older Jenny Lind secondhand.
Convertible, full-size or mini
Convertible cribs become a toddler bed, and sometimes a daybed or full-size bed. Before paying for the extra stages, check:
- What's in the box. Only the Babyletto Hudson includes its toddler kit. The rest sell the guardrail or conversion kit separately, and a kit fits only the crib models it names.
- Whether you'll use it. A full-size bed conversion is years away. Our crib to toddler bed guide covers when the AAP says to make the switch.
Mini cribs are smaller than full-size (the Delta mini's included mattress is 37.5 x 23.25 inches), and many fold or roll. They fit small bedrooms and room-sharing, and your child outgrows one sooner. Both mini picks here include a mattress, which settles the fit question. Our small-apartment gear guide has more space savers.
Mattress heights
You start with the mattress high, so you aren't bending to the floor to lay down a newborn, and lower it as your baby grows. Dream On Me's Synergy listing describes lowering it "in stages as your baby learns to sit, pull up, and stand," and your crib's manual gives the exact point for each change. The Babyletto Hudson and both DaVinci cribs have four heights; the Essex and Synergy have three.
Where the crib goes
The AAP recommends room-sharing for at least the first six months, "close to your bed—but not in the same bed," according to its guide to safe sleep. If a full-size crib won't fit in your bedroom, a mini crib or a bassinet can cover those months.
Keep the crib away from window blind cords (our guide to cordless blackout curtains explains why), and anchor the dresser beside it to the wall; our furniture anchor guide shows how.
What goes inside
Key point: a fitted sheet and nothing else. The AAP says to use "a fitted sheet only—nothing else should be in the crib with your baby," and to make sure "your crib mattress is designed for your specific crib and that it fits tightly." CPSC's rule is the same: "'Bare is Best' - nothing but a fitted sheet in a crib, bassinet or play yard."
That rules out bumpers, pillows, blankets, positioners and stuffed toys. For warmth, the AAP suggests a wearable blanket; our sleep sack guide matches them to room temperature, and our safe sleep guide has the full list.
Pro tip: assemble the crib before your due date, with two adults if the instructions say so, and keep the instructions and leftover hardware. You'll need them each time you lower the mattress or convert the crib.
Cribs we left out
- Babyletto Origami Mini. Babyletto includes a 1-inch pad and recommends its separately sold mini crib mattress for more support. We picked minis that ship with a mattress made for them.
- Cribs with drawers or attached changers. A changer adds bulk; we kept this list to cribs alone.
- Listings from third-party sellers, and any crib whose seller we couldn't confirm.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are drop-side cribs illegal?
Yes, to make or sell in the US, including resale, since June 28, 2011. CPSC says a drop-side crib, even with an immobilizer installed, will not meet the current standards, so don't use one for your baby.
How far apart should crib slats be?
No more than 2 3/8 inches, about the width of a soda can, per CPSC, with no missing or cracked slats, loose hardware, or cutouts in the headboard or footboard.
Is a mini crib safe for sleep?
Yes, if it meets the federal standard for non-full-size cribs, 16 C.F.R. part 1220. Mini crib sizes vary, so use the mattress it came with or a replacement that names your crib model.
Is a used crib safe?
It can be, if it was made on or after June 28, 2011, has no drop side, has no missing or loose hardware or slats, and the model hasn't been recalled. Use a mattress that fits it tightly.
When should you lower the crib mattress?
In stages as your baby learns to sit, pull up and stand, starting from the highest position for a newborn. Your crib's manual gives the exact point for each height.
NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This guide summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice; ask your pediatrician about your baby's sleep.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: The new crib standard questions and answers
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Full Size Baby Cribs
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Non-full-size cribs
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Crib safety tips
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Recalled more than 2.1 million drop-side cribs
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: DaVinci-brand cribs made from May through December 2012
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: South Shore cribs
- American Academy of Pediatrics: A parents guide to safe sleep
The picks
Products reviewed
Ranked in the order we recommend them. Prices shown are approximate and change often; the buttons always show the current Amazon price.
Graco Benton 5-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedThe straightforward full-size convertible, through to a full bed.
Pros
- + Converts to a toddler bed, daybed and full bed; the guardrail and full-bed kits are sold separately
- + GREENGUARD Gold certified and Baby Safety Alliance verified, per the listing
- + Made by Storkcraft, Graco's licensee for nursery furniture; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The listing doesn't say how many mattress heights it has
- - Pine and wood composites, not solid wood throughout
Delta Children Essex 4-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedA clean-lined convertible with angled pine legs, if you don't need a full-bed stage.
Pros
- + Converts to a toddler bed, daybed and sofa; the daybed rail is included
- + Three mattress heights, per the listing
- + JPMA certified to ASTM standards, per Delta; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The toddler guardrail (0094) is sold separately
- - No full-size bed conversion
Babyletto Hudson 3-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedThe design-led pick, and the only full-size crib here that ships with its toddler kit.
Pros
- + Four mattress heights and a low-profile design, per Babyletto
- + Toddler bed conversion kit included in the box
- + GREENGUARD Gold certified; New Zealand pine frame with hidden hardware
Cons
- - 3-in-1 only: no full-size bed stage
DaVinci Kalani 4-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedThe long-haul crib if you want it to end up as a full-size bed.
Pros
- + Converts to a toddler bed, daybed and full-size bed
- + Four mattress heights and GREENGUARD Gold certified, per the listing
- + New Zealand pine; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The toddler kit (M3099), full-size kit (M4799) and bunkie board are all sold separately
- - 56 lbs, the heaviest crib here
DaVinci Jenny Lind 3-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedThe traditional spindle crib, with wheels that make cleaning under it easier.
Pros
- + Four mattress heights and rolling, lockable wheels
- + GREENGUARD Gold certified, per the listing
- + The classic spindle look; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The toddler kit (M3199) is sold separately
- - Jenny Lind cribs made in 2012 were recalled in 2015; check the label on any used one (see below)
Storkcraft Pasadena 3-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedA lighter, 34 lb 3-in-1 from the company that also makes Graco's cribs.
Pros
- + Converts to a toddler bed and a daybed; takes one or two guardrails, sold separately
- + GREENGUARD Gold certified and Baby Safety Alliance verified, per the listing
- + Pine wood, about 34 lbs; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The listing doesn't state the number of mattress heights
- - No full-size bed stage
Dream On Me Synergy 5-in-1 Convertible Crib
From the listing · not testedA full-size crib on a steel mattress support that converts to a big-kid bed.
Pros
- + Three mattress positions on a steel mattress support frame, per the listing
- + Converts to a toddler bed, daybed and full-size bed; the rails are sold separately
- + GREENGUARD Gold certified and BSA verified, per Dream On Me
Cons
- - The guardrail, stabilizer and full-size rails are all sold separately
- - Dream On Me gives a 50 lb weight limit for the crib
Delta Children Folding Portable Mini Crib with Mattress
From the listing · not testedThe small-apartment crib that comes with a mattress made for it.
Pros
- + Includes its own 1.5-inch mattress, which stores inside the crib when folded
- + Folds flat and rolls on casters, per the listing
- + Two mattress heights; JPMA certified, per Delta
Cons
- - A mini crib: your child outgrows it sooner than a full-size crib
- - The included mattress is thin; buy a replacement only if it names this model
Dream On Me 2-in-1 Portable Mini Crib
From the listing · not testedA folding mini crib for a guest room or a grandparent's house.
Pros
- + Mattress included; 40 x 26 x 38 inches assembled, per the listing
- + Folds flat and rolls on locking wheels
- + Two mattress heights; GREENGUARD Gold certified
Cons
- - No toddler bed conversion
- - Dream On Me says it converts to a playpen, but it's a rigid-sided mini crib, not a mesh play yard
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.








