Best Jogging Strollers (2026), and When Your Baby Is Old Enough to Run
Seven jogging strollers compared on locking front wheels, hand brakes and wrist straps, plus what BOB, Thule and Chicco say about the age to start running.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Makers differ on when to start running: Thule says 6 months, BOB says most babies lack the neck strength until 8 months, and Chicco says 12 months, so ask your pediatrician. To run, choose a stroller with a locking front wheel, a hand brake and a wrist strap, such as the BOB Wayfinder or Baby Jogger Summit X3.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1Top pickBOB Gear Wayfinder Jogging Stroller$679.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The full set of running features from a running-stroller brand.
- 2Also considerUPPAbaby Ridge V2 Jogging Stroller$699.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The pick if you already own UPPAbaby car seats.
- 3Budget optionBaby Jogger Summit X3 Jogging Stroller$439.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The BOB's running features: a hand brake, a tether and a locking front wheel.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| BOB Gear Wayfinder Jogging Stroller | UPPAbaby Ridge V2 Jogging Stroller | Baby Jogger Summit X3 Jogging Stroller | Chicco TRE All-Terrain Jogging Stroller | Chicco Activ3 All-Terrain Jogging Stroller | Joovy Zoom360 Ultralight Jogging Stroller | Baby Trend Journey Jogger | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $679.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $699.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $439.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $424.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $389.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $259.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $115.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -31.1 lb, the heaviest brand-published weight here | -41.4 lb on the listing, the heaviest here | -Child weight limit not stated on the listing | -Chicco says 12 months for jogging, the latest start of any maker here | -The listing names a hand parking brake, not a speed brake, and no wrist strap | -Joovy's page lists no hand brake or wrist strap | -No hand brake or wrist strap on the listing |
If you plan to run, buy a stroller that lists a locking front wheel, a hand brake and a wrist strap: of the seven here, the BOB Wayfinder, Baby Jogger Summit X3, UPPAbaby Ridge V2 and Chicco TRE do. Wait to run until your baby has solid head and neck control and has reached the age your stroller's maker gives, which ranges from 6 months (Thule) to 12 months (Chicco), and ask your pediatrician first.
How we chose: seven strollers sold by Amazon.com and in stock on September 28, 2026, with features and limits from each maker's page or manual where we could load it and from the Amazon listing otherwise (we say which); we did not test them. None of these brands has a CPSC stroller recall in our recall data since 2023.
When you can start running
Makers don't agree, and none gives one number for every baby:
| Maker | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Thule | "We do, however, recommend a minimum age of six months before running." | Thule jogging tips |
| BOB Gear | "Most don't have the neck strength for jogging motion until 8 months." It also says: "Consult your pediatrician prior to any stroller activity." | BOB safety standards |
| BOB Gear (Wayfinder) | "Do not jog or walk fast with a child that does not have head and neck control." | BOB Wayfinder |
| Chicco | "For jogging or off road stroller use, children should be at least 12 months old." | Chicco Tre manual, Chicco Baby Talk |
| Baby Jogger | "Consult your pediatrician before jogging with a baby under 6 months old." | Summit X3 listing |
Key point: the range is 6 to 12 months, and every maker points you to your pediatrician. The one thing they agree on is head and neck control: a baby who can't hold their head steady shouldn't be jogged, whatever the calendar says.
Walking is different. Several of these strollers can be used from birth for walks with a bassinet or infant car seat attached. Chicco's manual draws the line plainly: walking only from newborn to 6 months, jogging and off-road from 12 months.
The running features, stroller by stroller
| Stroller | Hand speed brake | Wrist strap | Front wheel lock | Weight | Child limit | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOB Wayfinder | Yes | Yes | Yes | 31.1 lb | 65 lb, 44 in | $679.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| UPPAbaby Ridge V2 | Yes (disc) | Yes | Yes | 41.4 lb (listing) | 3 mo to 55 lb | $699.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Baby Jogger Summit X3 | Yes | Yes (tether) | Yes | 28.4 lb (listing) | Not stated | $439.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Chicco TRE | Yes | Yes | Yes | 28.5 lb (listing) | 50 lb | $424.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Chicco Activ3 | Parking brake only | Not listed | Yes | 27.5 lb (listing) | Not stated | $389.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Joovy Zoom360 | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | 25.7 lb | 75 lb | $259.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
| Baby Trend Journey Jogger | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | 20.5 lb | 50 lb, 42 in | $115.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
"Not listed" means neither the brand page nor the listing mentions the feature. That doesn't prove the stroller lacks it, so check the manual before you buy.
What the lock, brake and strap are for
These three separate a running stroller from an all-terrain one.
- Front wheel lock. A swiveling front wheel steers easily on a walk but can shimmy at speed. Chicco's Tre manual: "FALL HAZARD from tip over. Before running, jogging, or walking fast, LOCK the front wheel from swiveling."
- Hand brake. It slows the stroller downhill. Chicco's manual notes that it "is not designed to bring the stroller to an abrupt stop or to be used as a parking brake," so use the foot brake whenever you stop.
- Wrist strap. BOB says: "Make sure to use the stroller's Wrist Strap while doing any type of exercise." Chicco's manual says to use it "to prevent being separated from stroller."
For regular running
The BOB Gear Wayfinder and Baby Jogger Summit X3 both list all three features. The Wayfinder has the higher child limit (65 lb and 44 in, per BOB) and folds to 16.5 x 22 x 32.5 in with the wheels on. The Summit X3 adds all-wheel suspension, but its listing doesn't state a child weight limit.
The UPPAbaby Ridge V2 adds a hand disc brake and never-flat tires, and at 41.4 lb on the listing it is the heaviest here. It makes most sense if you already use an UPPAbaby Mesa or Aria car seat, which attach with adapters.
With an infant car seat, for walks
All seven take an infant car seat in some form, so a young baby can come along on walks before they are old enough to be jogged.
- Chicco TRE and Activ3: any Chicco infant car seat clicks in with no adapter.
- UPPAbaby Ridge V2: the Mesa and Aria seats and the bassinet, with adapters.
- BOB Wayfinder: BOB lists the Britax Willow, Maxi-Cosi Mico and Coral XP, Cybex Cloud Q and Aton, and Nuna Pipa and Pipa Lite, all with adapters.
- Baby Jogger Summit X3: Baby Jogger and Graco car seats, adapters sold separately.
- Joovy Zoom360: from newborn with a car seat adapter, per Joovy.
Pro tip: a car seat on a jogging frame is for walking, not running; Chicco's manual rules out jogging until 12 months whatever is attached. For the seats themselves, see our infant car seat comparison and our car seat expiration chart.
Joggers better for walking
The Chicco Activ3 has a hand-operated locking front wheel and foam-filled tires that can't go flat. Its listing names a hand parking brake, not a speed brake, and doesn't mention a wrist strap.
The Joovy Zoom360 is the lightest full-size jogger here at 25.7 lb and takes children up to 75 lb, but Joovy's page lists no hand brake or wrist strap.
The Baby Trend Journey Jogger has a lockable front wheel and air-filled tires. With no hand brake or wrist strap on its listing, we would treat it as a sturdy walking stroller.
Is the Thule Urban Glide 3 a jogging stroller?
Not according to Thule. Its product page says: "No, Thule Urban Glide 3 is not designed for jogging. For running, choose Thule Glide 3, which is specifically designed and approved for running." Some Amazon listings still put "Jogging Stroller" in the Urban Glide 3's title. We left it out because of Thule's answer, and the running model, the Thule Glide 3, showed only a shipping lead time when we checked.
Before buying secondhand, run the model through our recall checker, and see our stroller fold size and weight chart for folded sizes.
Frequently Asked Questions
At what age can I run with my baby in a jogging stroller?
Between 6 and 12 months, depending on the maker and your baby: Thule says at least 6 months, BOB says most babies lack the neck strength until 8 months, and Chicco says 12 months. All say to check with your pediatrician first, and none says to jog a baby without good head and neck control.
Can I jog with a newborn in a car seat on a jogging stroller?
The makers we checked say no. A car seat or bassinet lets a young baby ride along on walks, and Chicco's manual allows walking only until 6 months and jogging from 12 months, even with a car seat attached.
What is the difference between a jogging stroller and an all-terrain stroller?
A jogging stroller is built for running: its front wheel locks straight, and it usually has a hand brake and a wrist strap. An all-terrain stroller has big tires and suspension for rough ground but may not be approved for running; Thule says its Urban Glide 3 isn't designed for jogging.
Do I need a hand brake on a jogging stroller?
For running on hills, yes: it lets you slow down without stopping. Chicco's manual notes that a hand brake only slows the stroller, so you still need the foot parking brake whenever you stop.
What is the lightest jogging stroller?
Of the full-size joggers here, the Joovy Zoom360, at a brand-published 25.7 lb. The Baby Trend Journey Jogger is 20.5 lb but has no hand brake or wrist strap on its listing.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- Thule: Thule jogging tips
- BOB Gear: BOB safety standards
- BOB Gear: BOB Wayfinder
- Chicco: Chicco Tre manual
- Chicco: Chicco Baby Talk
NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these strollers; features and limits are the makers' own. This guide is not medical advice: ask your pediatrician before running with your baby.
The picks
Products reviewed
Ranked in the order we recommend them. Prices shown are approximate and change often; the buttons always show the current Amazon price.
BOB Gear Wayfinder Jogging Stroller
From the listing · not testedThe full set of running features from a running-stroller brand.
Pros
- + Hand brake, wrist strap and a swivel-locking front wheel, per BOB
- + Children up to 65 lb and 44 in, per BOB
- + Folds to 16.5 x 22 x 32.5 in with the wheels on; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - 31.1 lb, the heaviest brand-published weight here
UPPAbaby Ridge V2 Jogging Stroller
From the listing · not testedThe pick if you already own UPPAbaby car seats.
Pros
- + Hand-activated disc brake, a wrist strap and a swivel-locking front wheel, per the listing
- + Seat from 3 months to 55 lb; from birth with the bassinet or Mesa and Aria car seats (adapters required)
- + Never-flat tires; one-hand fold that stands; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - 41.4 lb on the listing, the heaviest here
Baby Jogger Summit X3 Jogging Stroller
From the listing · not testedThe BOB's running features: a hand brake, a tether and a locking front wheel.
Pros
- + Hand-operated deceleration brake and a handlebar tether strap, per the listing
- + Locking front swivel wheel and all-wheel suspension
- + One-hand compact fold; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Child weight limit not stated on the listing
Chicco TRE All-Terrain Jogging Stroller
From the listing · not testedA running stroller with the clearest manual we read.
Pros
- + Hand deceleration brake, wrist strap and a front wheel lock, per the Tre manual
- + Any Chicco infant car seat clicks in with no adapter
- + Children up to 50 lb, per the manual; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Chicco says 12 months for jogging, the latest start of any maker here
Chicco Activ3 All-Terrain Jogging Stroller
From the listing · not testedA Chicco jogger with flat-proof tires for walks and easy runs.
Pros
- + Hand-operated locking front swivel wheel
- + Foam-filled tires that can't go flat, per the listing
- + Chicco infant car seats click in with no adapter; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The listing names a hand parking brake, not a speed brake, and no wrist strap
Joovy Zoom360 Ultralight Jogging Stroller
From the listing · not testedA light jogger with a high weight limit.
Pros
- + 25.7 lb, the lightest brand-published weight of the full-size joggers here
- + Front wheel locks straight for running; children up to 75 lb, per Joovy
- + Parent organizer included; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Joovy's page lists no hand brake or wrist strap
Baby Trend Journey Jogger
From the listing · not testedA light, 20.5 lb jogger for walking more than running.
Pros
- + Lockable front swivel wheel and air-filled tires
- + 20.5 lb; children up to 50 lb and 42 in, per Baby Trend
- + Parent and child trays; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - No hand brake or wrist strap on the listing
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.






