Baby Wipes and Wipe Warmers (2026): Ingredients, Sensitive Skin, and Warmer Recalls
Six fragrance-free baby wipes compared on ingredients and pack count, how to work out cost per wipe, plus three wipe warmers and what past CPSC warmer recalls say to check.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Buy wipes free of alcohol and fragrance, as the AAP advises, and rinse with water when skin is irritated. WaterWipes list the fewest ingredients; Pampers Sensitive and Huggies Natural Care Sensitive come in the biggest packs here, 1,008 and 960 wipes. A wipe warmer is optional; past recalls involved cracked tubs and overheating.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1Top pickPampers Sensitive Baby Wipes, 1,008 count$29.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A fragrance-free, alcohol-free wipe in the biggest pack here.
- 2Also considerHuggies Natural Care Sensitive Baby Wipes, 960 count$30.97 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A short 'free of' list, split into packs for the diaper bag.
- 3Also considerWaterWipes Sensitive+ Newborn & Baby Wipes, 540 count$34.27 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The shortest ingredient list here.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| Pampers Sensitive Baby Wipes, 1,008 count | Huggies Natural Care Sensitive Baby Wipes, 960 count | WaterWipes Sensitive+ Newborn & Baby Wipes, 540 count | Hello Bello Baby Wipes, Fragrance-Free, 540 count | The Honest Company Multi-Use Baby Wipes, 288 count | Coterie Baby Wipes for Sensitive Skin, 448 count | Munchkin Warm Glow Wipe Warmer | Prince Lionheart Ultimate Wipes Warmer | Jool Baby TinyBums Wipe Warmer | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $29.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $30.97 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $34.27 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $24.69 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $19.97 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $66.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price | $29.97 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $19.97 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)Check price | $24.96 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -Pampers' comparison claims against other brands are its own | -Huggies notes packaging may vary | -540 wipes, about half the count of the Pampers and Huggies packs | -Plant extracts are extra ingredients for a baby whose skin reacts easily | -288 wipes, the smallest pack here | -448 wipes, fewer than the big Pampers and Huggies packs | -Munchkin says to add up to half a cup of water with each refill, so you have to top it up | -The pillow needs rinsing weekly and replacing every three months, per the listing | -The listing does not state a temperature |
Buy fragrance-free, alcohol-free wipes, which is the American Academy of Pediatrics' one rule for wipes, then choose on ingredients and pack size. Of the six here, WaterWipes have the shortest ingredient list, and Pampers Sensitive and Huggies Natural Care Sensitive come in the biggest packs. A wipe warmer is optional; if you buy one, the CPSC's past recalls show what to check.
How we chose: six fragrance-free wipes and three warmers, each sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store; ingredients, counts and claims come from the listings and brands, and we did not test them.
The six wipes side by side
| Wipes | Count | Amazon price | Fragrance | What the listing says is in or out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pampers Sensitive | 1,008 | $29.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price | Fragrance-free | 0% alcohol, parabens, latex; water based |
| Huggies Natural Care Sensitive | 960 | $30.97 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price | Fragrance-free | Free of parabens, phenoxyethanol, alcohol |
| Hello Bello Fragrance-Free | 540 | $24.69 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price | Fragrance-free | Aloe and chamomile extract added |
| WaterWipes Sensitive+ | 540 | $34.27 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price | 0% fragrance | 99.9% water plus a drop of fruit extract |
| Honest Multi-Use | 288 | $19.97 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price | Fragrance-free | Over 99% water, seven ingredients |
| Coterie Sensitive | 448 | $66.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price | Unscented | 99% water plus five named ingredients |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
To compare cost, work out price per wipe: divide the Amazon price in the table by the count. A 1,008-count pack and a 288-count pack are not comparable by pack price alone, and Subscribe & Save or a sale can change the answer from week to week.
What the AAP says about wipes and rash
The AAP's diaper rash page, from its Section on Dermatology, gives one rule: "For wipes, choose a product that is free of alcohol and fragrance."
For irritated skin, it says water can be kinder than wiping: "cleanse the skin with water and a non-soap/gentle cleanser, which may be less painful than wiping if the skin is irritated or has open sores." For severe rashes, use "a squirt or spray bottle of water... to rinse without rubbing," then "pat gently and allow skin to air-dry."
The same page lists "fragrances or preservatives in diaper wipes or creams" among common allergens. One clue is "a rash that happens after every exposure to that product," and the AAP's suggestion is: "Switching brands or types of products for a 2-week period can sometimes help sort this out."
Pro tip: if you suspect the wipes, switch to the shortest ingredient list you can find, or plain water on a soft cloth, for those two weeks, then tell your pediatrician what you saw.
You may need fewer wipes than you think
In its article "A Word on Wipes," the AAP makes three practical points:
- Pee changes may not need a wipe. "Not every diaper change requires the use of wipes," because "pee is rarely irritating" and modern disposable diapers limit how much touches the skin. "Reserving wipes for cleaning up poop can save you a considerable amount."
- Refill packs cost less. You "pay for packaging," the AAP says, so buy large refills and restock a reusable container.
- Don't flush them. "Very few wipes on the market" are safe for plumbing, and even the "flushable ones still have the unfortunate tendency to get stuck."
For the rash itself, the AAP's advice is a thick barrier cream; our diaper rash cream guide compares zinc oxide and petrolatum products.
Wipe warmers: optional
The AAP writes that "baby's body temperature is 98.6°F and regular damp wipes are roughly 60°F," and that some parents find warm wipes "less shocking." It adds: "Realistically speaking, though, most babies are not afforded this luxury and get used to cool wipes right from the start."
If you want one, here is how the three compare:
| Warmer | Amazon price | Heats from | Holds | Nightlight | Temperature stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince Lionheart Ultimate | $19.97 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price | Bottom, with a damp pillow | Not stated | Soft glow | Average 99 to 100°F |
| Jool Baby TinyBums | $24.96 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC)Check price | Not stated | Up to 90 wipes | LED, on/off switch | Not stated |
| Munchkin Warm Glow | $29.97 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC)Check price | Top | Up to 100 wipes | Turns off after 10 minutes | Not stated |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
What the wipe warmer recalls found
A wipe warmer puts water and electricity in one box. The CPSC recalls we found are old, but they show what can go wrong:
- 2001, Safety 1st: about 100,600 wipe warmers (CPSC notice). "Cracks in the interior basin of these wipe warmers can allow moisture to contact the electrical components. Consumers touching the wipes could receive an electrical shock." Safety 1st had 17 reports of cracking; no injuries or shocks were reported.
- 2000, Prince Lionheart: about 152,000 warmers, style number 0224 with date codes 9803 to 9901 (CPSC notice). Cracked tubs could let water reach the electrical components, and Prince Lionheart had "four reports of electric shocks." The Ultimate warmer listed here is a current model, not a recalled unit.
- 1997, Dex Products: about 536,000 wraparound wipe warmers that "could overheat and melt," with six reports of melting (CPSC notice).
Key point: check the inside of the tub for cracks at every refill and stop using a cracked warmer. Follow the maker's water instructions exactly: Munchkin says up to half a cup per refill, and Prince Lionheart says to rinse the pillow weekly and replace it every three months.
Keep the warmer and its cord within your reach but out of your baby's; our changing table guide covers setting up a station. Before buying a used warmer, check our baby gear recalls page.
Which wipes to buy
- Fewest ingredients, for newborn or reactive skin: WaterWipes, which list water and a drop of fruit extract.
- Fragrance-free in the biggest pack: Pampers Sensitive, 1,008 wipes, with National Eczema Association approval on the listing.
- A short "free of" list in grab-and-go packs: Huggies Natural Care Sensitive, 15 packs of 64.
- Plastic-free fibers: Coterie.
Whichever you pick, compare today's prices in the table as price per wipe, not per pack.
To see where wipes fit in the rest of the budget, see our baby registry checklist on a budget and our diaper pail guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
What kind of baby wipes does the AAP recommend?
Wipes free of alcohol and fragrance: the AAP says to "choose a product that is free of alcohol and fragrance." For irritated or broken skin, it suggests water and a gentle, non-soap cleanser instead, then letting the skin air-dry.
Can baby wipes cause diaper rash?
Yes. The AAP lists "fragrances or preservatives in diaper wipes or creams" among common allergens behind allergic diaper rash, and suggests switching brands or product types for two weeks to see if the rash clears.
How do I work out cost per wipe?
Divide the Amazon price in the table by the pack count: Pampers Sensitive is 1,008 wipes, Huggies Natural Care Sensitive 960, WaterWipes and Hello Bello 540, Coterie 448 and Honest 288. Prices change with sales and Subscribe & Save, so do the sum on the day you buy.
Are wipe warmers safe?
Check them for cracks: CPSC recalls from 1997 to 2001 involved cracked tubs that could let water reach electrical parts, and one warmer that could overheat and melt. Follow the maker's water instructions and keep the cord out of your baby's reach.
Can I flush baby wipes?
No. The AAP says "very few wipes on the market" are safe for plumbing, and even flushable ones "still have the unfortunate tendency to get stuck." Put them in the trash or the diaper pail.
NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This guide summarizes AAP and CPSC information and is not medical advice; ask your pediatrician about your baby's skin.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- American Academy of Pediatrics: Diaper Rash
- American Academy of Pediatrics: "A Word on Wipes,"
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC notice
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC notice
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC notice
The picks
Products reviewed
Ranked in the order we recommend them. Prices shown are approximate and change often; the buttons always show the current Amazon price.
Pampers Sensitive Baby Wipes, 1,008 count
From the listing · not testedA fragrance-free, alcohol-free wipe in the biggest pack here.
Pros
- + Unscented and fragrance-free, with 0% alcohol, parabens and latex, per the listing
- + 1,008 wipes, the biggest pack here
- + Listed with Skin Health Alliance and National Eczema Association approval
Cons
- - Pampers' comparison claims against other brands are its own
Huggies Natural Care Sensitive Baby Wipes, 960 count
From the listing · not testedA short 'free of' list, split into packs for the diaper bag.
Pros
- + Free of fragrance, parabens, phenoxyethanol and alcohol, per the listing
- + 960 wipes in 15 flip-top packs of 64
- + National Eczema Association Seal of Approval, per the listing
Cons
- - Huggies notes packaging may vary
WaterWipes Sensitive+ Newborn & Baby Wipes, 540 count
From the listing · not testedThe shortest ingredient list here.
Pros
- + Two ingredients: 99.9% purified water and a drop of fruit extract, per WaterWipes
- + 0% fragrance and alcohol; marketed for premature and newborn skin
Cons
- - 540 wipes, about half the count of the Pampers and Huggies packs
Hello Bello Baby Wipes, Fragrance-Free, 540 count
From the listing · not testedA fragrance-free wipe with added plant extracts.
Pros
- + Fragrance-free, with a touch of aloe and chamomile extract, per the listing
- + Nine resealable packets
Cons
- - Plant extracts are extra ingredients for a baby whose skin reacts easily
The Honest Company Multi-Use Baby Wipes, 288 count
From the listing · not testedA fragrance-free wipe with a compostable claim.
Pros
- + Over 99% water and seven listed ingredients; fragrance- and alcohol-free, per the listing
- + Plant-based and compostable, per Honest; National Eczema Association recognized
Cons
- - 288 wipes, the smallest pack here
Coterie Baby Wipes for Sensitive Skin, 448 count
From the listing · not testedA larger, plastic-free wipe.
Pros
- + 99% water plus five named ingredients; unscented, pH balanced, per Coterie
- + Plastic-free, plant-based fibers; wipes up to 30% larger than other brands, per Coterie
- + Sold by Coterie's own store
Cons
- - 448 wipes, fewer than the big Pampers and Huggies packs
Munchkin Warm Glow Wipe Warmer
From the listing · not testedA top-down warmer with a timed nightlight.
Pros
- + Warms from the top, which Munchkin says reduces browning and drying; holds up to 100 wipes
- + Nightlight that turns off after 10 minutes; viewing window
Cons
- - Munchkin says to add up to half a cup of water with each refill, so you have to top it up
Prince Lionheart Ultimate Wipes Warmer
From the listing · not testedThe one warmer here with a stated temperature, with maintenance to keep up.
Pros
- + Pop-up, one-hand wipe access
- + Prince Lionheart gives an average wipe temperature of 99 to 100°F
- + everFRESH pillow releases water vapor to keep wipes moist
Cons
- - The pillow needs rinsing weekly and replacing every three months, per the listing
- - An older Prince Lionheart warmer model was recalled in 2000; see below
Jool Baby TinyBums Wipe Warmer
From the listing · not testedA warmer you can switch off without unplugging.
Pros
- + On/off switch, useful if the outlet is hard to reach
- + Locking lid with a soft seal; holds up to 90 wipes; clear window
Cons
- - The listing does not state a temperature
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.








