Skip to content
Toddler & Preschool10 min read8 products compared

Learning Towers and Kitchen Helper Stools (2026): Stability, Height, and Recalls

Learning towers and toddler step stools compared by platform height, age and weight limit, with the 2026 wave of CPSC tower recalls and which models to avoid.

By the NurseryProof Editorial TeamSeptember 28, 2026How we research

Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research

Quick answer

The CPSC has recalled at least ten toddler towers and kitchen step stools in 2026, for collapsing, tipping over, or openings a child's torso can fit through. Buy an established brand's model with no open recall, like the Little Partners Explore 'N Store, register it, and use it for cold jobs away from the stove.

At a glance

Our top picks

  1. 1
    Top pickLittle Partners Explore 'N Store Learning Tower$159.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
    From the listing · not tested

    A full-height tower with four platform settings.

  2. 2
    Also considerLittle Partners Learn 'N Fold Learning Tower$199.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
    From the listing · not tested

    The Little Partners tower for kitchens with no room to leave one out.

  3. 3
    Budget optionGuidecraft Kitchen Helper Flex Toddler Tower$149.95 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
    From the listing · not tested

    A newer folding tower that converts to an adult step stool.

A young girl in a pink apron standing inside a white wooden learning tower, rolling dough at the kitchen counter

Side by side

Quick comparison

 Little Partners Explore 'N Store Learning TowerLittle Partners Learn 'N Fold Learning TowerGuidecraft Kitchen Helper Flex Toddler TowerLittle Partners 3-in-1 Growing Step StoolGuidecraft High Rise Step UpOXO Tot Step StoolDreambaby Step StoolBabyBjörn Step Stool
Price$159.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)$199.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)$149.95 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)$99.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)$89.95 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)$20.79 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)$12.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)$14.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
Key Pros
  • +Four platform heights: 12.36, 14.33, 16.3 and 18.27 inches, per the listing
  • +Folding step for storage; holds up to 150 lbs
  • +Folds to about 12 inches wide for storage, per the listing
  • +Anti-tip, anti-slide feet; holds up to 150 lbs
  • +Listed for 18 months through adulthood, up to 200 lbs
  • +Steel frame with beech wood; platform adjusts from 14 to 17 inches
  • +Three height positions for a sink or counter, per the listing
  • +Anti-tip, anti-slip feet and handrails
  • +Textured, non-slip treads and hand-holds, per Guidecraft
  • +Carries up to 200 lbs
  • +Gives a 7-inch boost, per OXO
  • +Textured top and a non-slip base
  • +5.6 inches high with 117 rubber dots for traction, per the listing
  • +Non-slip base, contoured to fit around a toilet
  • +Stable design that is hard to tip over, per BabyBjörn
  • +PVC-free and BPA-free plastic
Key Cons
-About 33.5 inches tall and 18.7 lbs; a lot of kitchen floor
-Only two height settings, and listed as low in stock
-Guidecraft recalled its Classic and Contemporary Kitchen Helper towers in 2026; the Flex is a different model
-Handrails, not a full enclosure; the listing gives both 100 and 200 lbs as its limit
-A climbing step with hand-holds, not an enclosed tower
-Only one step; won't reach a kitchen counter
-The lowest boost here
-The listing does not give a weight limit or step height
 

This guide is for parents thinking about a learning tower, the railed platform that lifts a toddler to counter height to wash vegetables or stir batter. In 2026 the CPSC recalled at least ten of them, so start with the recalls, then buy an established brand's model that isn't named in one, such as the Little Partners Explore 'N Store, and keep it to cold jobs away from the stove.

How we chose: each pick is made by an established brand, sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store, and not a model named in a CPSC recall; we checked each brand's recall record and did not test the products. Recall details are quoted from the linked CPSC notices, and safety guidance from the AAP's Safety for Your Child: 1 to 2 Years on HealthyChildren.org.

What the recalls say goes wrong

CPSC records we checked include at least ten recalls of toddler towers and kitchen step stools in 2026 alone. Most notices describe the same failures: the stools "can collapse or tip over while in use, and a child's torso can fit through the openings on the front and back sides, posing a risk of serious injury and death due to tip over, fall and entrapment hazards."

Recall date Product Hazard, per the CPSC
Jul 30, 2026 HARPPA Nordi toddler tower stools Collapse, tip-over and torso entrapment
Jul 30, 2026 Woodure toddler kitchen step stools Collapse, tip-over and torso entrapment
Jul 16, 2026 Boon PIVOT collapsible toddler towers "Can tip over while in use"
Jul 16, 2026 SDADI kitchen step stools Entrapment and fall
May 14, 2026 Guidecraft Kitchen Helper towers Platform "can loosen over time, causing it to become unstable or detach"
May 14, 2026 Cosyland tower stools Collapse, tip-over and torso entrapment
Apr 23, 2026 Wiifo tower stools Collapse, tip-over and torso entrapment
Nov 20, 2025 Little Partners Grow 'N Stow folding tower Platform "can collapse"
Mar 13, 2025 Onasti toddler tower stools "Can collapse or tip over"
Aug 17, 2023 Simplay3 Toddler Towers "Can tip over while in use"

Other 2026 recalls include Mangohood, TOETOL and AMZCMJ DGD tower stools. Several recalled towers were sold on Amazon.com; search any tower you already own on our baby product recalls page.

Key point: if you own a recalled tower, stop using it and follow the remedy in the notice. Several are repair kits: Boon's is a stabilizing part, and Nordi's is "protective nets, stabilizing feet and installation instructions."

Guidecraft and Little Partners: which models?

Two well-known tower brands have recalls, each for specific models:

  • Guidecraft recalled "Classic and Contemporary Guidecraft Kitchen Helper Towers in nine colors sold from June 1, 2022, through October 31, 2023." The CPSC says the item and lot numbers are on "the foil sticker at the bottom of each tower's platform," and Guidecraft offers free repair parts. Because the Classic and Contemporary are still sold under the same names, we chose the newer Kitchen Helper Flex instead.
  • Little Partners recalled its Grow 'N Stow Folding Learning Tower, "model number LP01711 and date codes, in YYYYMM format, from 202409 to 202501." The fix is a new crossbar. The Explore 'N Store, Learn 'N Fold and Growing Step Stool here are different models.

We also left out Cosyland and Boon, which have 2026 recalls, and tower brands we could not match to an established maker.

A young child's hands sifting flour through a sieve into a bowl on a wooden kitchen table
Sifting, stirring and washing vegetables are the jobs for a tower, well away from the stove.

What the AAP says about kitchens and climbing

The AAP's toddler safety page doesn't name learning towers, but two of its warnings apply:

  • Climbing: "A chair left next to a kitchen counter, table, or window allows your child to climb to dangerously high places." A tower left at the counter works the same way, so fold it or move it away when you're done.
  • Burns: "The kitchen is a dangerous place for your child during meal preparation. Hot liquids, grease, and hot foods spilled on your child will cause serious burns." And: "It's best to keep your child out of the kitchen while cooking."

It also says: "If your child has a serious fall or does not act normally after a fall, call your doctor."

Bottom line: a tower is for cold jobs with an adult right there. Keep it away from the stove, knives and hot pans, and never leave a child in it alone.

The towers and stools side by side

Product Amazon price Type Platform or step height Age on listing Weight limit Folds? Seller
Little Partners Explore 'N Store $159.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC) Tower 12.36–18.27 in, 4 settings 2–6 years 150 lbs Folding step Little Partners
Little Partners Learn 'N Fold $199.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC) Tower 12.36 or 18.01 in 2–6 years 150 lbs Yes, flat Little Partners
Guidecraft Kitchen Helper Flex $149.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC) Tower 14–17 in 18 months+ 200 lbs Yes, flat Guidecraft
Little Partners 3-in-1 Growing Step Stool $99.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC) Stool with rails 3 settings Not stated 100 or 200 lbs (listing gives both) No Little Partners
Guidecraft High Rise Step Up $89.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC) Step with hand-holds Counter height 3 years+ 200 lbs No Guidecraft
OXO Tot Step Stool $20.79 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC) One step 7 in boost Not stated 200 lbs No Amazon.com
Dreambaby Step Stool $12.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC) One step 5.6 in Not stated 175 lbs No Amazon.com
BabyBjörn Step Stool $14.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC) One step Not stated Not stated Not stated No Amazon.com

Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details

Heights, ages and limits are from each listing; we have not measured them.

The three towers

The Little Partners Explore 'N Store is the full-size choice, with four platform heights from 12.36 to 18.27 inches so the platform rises as your child grows. It is listed for ages 2 to 6 and up to 150 lbs. The step folds for storage, but at about 33.5 inches tall the tower itself stays big.

The Little Partners Learn 'N Fold folds to about 12 inches wide, per the listing, so it can live beside the fridge. It has anti-tip, anti-slide feet but only two platform heights.

The Guidecraft Kitchen Helper Flex has a steel frame and beech wood, a platform that adjusts from 14 to 17 inches, and pivoting guardrails that fold flat. Guidecraft says it supports everyone from 18 months through adulthood, up to 200 lbs, and that it is Greenguard Gold certified with a Children's Product Certificate (CPC).

With floor space to spare, buy the Explore 'N Store; in a small kitchen, the Learn 'N Fold or the Flex.

Two children mixing ingredients in metal bowls at a kitchen island by a window
Towers and step stools let children help at counter height; the AAP says to keep them out of the kitchen while you cook.

Low stools for the sink and potty

For handwashing and toothbrushing, a low stool has no raised platform to fall from.

  • Dreambaby Step Stool: 5.6 inches high with 117 rubber dots and a non-slip base, contoured to fit around a toilet for potty training.
  • OXO Tot Step Stool: a 7-inch boost, textured top and non-slip base, up to 200 lbs.
  • BabyBjörn Step Stool: BabyBjörn calls it a "stable design that's hard to tip over," made of PVC-free, BPA-free plastic. The listing gives no height or weight limit.

For older preschoolers, the Little Partners 3-in-1 Growing Step Stool has three height positions, anti-tip feet and handrails, and the Guidecraft High Rise Step Up is a counter-height step with hand-holds for ages 3 and up.

Older plastic stools have recall history too: in 2017, Squatty Potty recalled its SquattyPottymus children's toilet step stools because the top step "can detach while a child is standing on it" (CPSC notice). Our potty training seats guide covers seats and stools together.

Using a tower safely

  • Register it, so you hear about a recall directly.
  • Assemble it exactly as instructed, and retighten the hardware later; the Guidecraft recall says its platform "can loosen over time."
  • Stay within arm's reach. Recall notices describe towers tipping and collapsing with a child in them.
  • Keep it away from the stove, and fold it or move it from the counter when you're done, per the AAP's climbing warning.

For the rest of the house, see our babyproofing checklist by age and our guide to furniture anchors and TV straps, which covers the other things toddlers climb.

Frequently Asked Questions

What age is a learning tower for?

It depends on the model: the Little Partners towers here are listed for ages 2 to 6, the Guidecraft Kitchen Helper Flex from 18 months. Follow the age and weight limits on your tower's listing and instructions.

Are learning towers safe?

Only as safe as the design and how it is used. The CPSC recalled at least ten tower stools in 2026 for collapse, tip-over or torso-sized openings. Buy an established brand's model with no open recall, register it, and stay with your child.

Was the Guidecraft Kitchen Helper recalled?

Yes, in May 2026: "Classic and Contemporary Guidecraft Kitchen Helper Towers in nine colors sold from June 1, 2022, through October 31, 2023." Check the item and lot number on the foil sticker under the platform, and contact Guidecraft for free repair parts.

Was the Little Partners Learning Tower recalled?

One model was: the Grow 'N Stow Folding Learning Tower, model LP01711, date codes 202409 to 202501. The CPSC says "The platform inside the tower can collapse." The fix is a free replacement crossbar.

Can my toddler use a learning tower while I cook?

No. The AAP says "It's best to keep your child out of the kitchen while cooking," because hot liquids, grease and hot foods can cause serious burns. Use the tower for cold jobs, well away from the stove.

Proof

Sources

Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.

  1. American Academy of Pediatrics: Safety for Your Child: 1 to 2 Years
  2. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: HARPPA Nordi toddler tower stools
  3. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Woodure toddler kitchen step stools
  4. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Boon PIVOT collapsible toddler towers
  5. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: SDADI kitchen step stools
  6. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Guidecraft Kitchen Helper towers
  7. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Cosyland tower stools
  8. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Wiifo tower stools
  9. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Little Partners Grow 'N Stow folding tower
  10. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Onasti toddler tower stools
  11. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Simplay3 Toddler Towers
  12. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC notice

NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This guide summarizes public recall records and guidance and is not a substitute for your product's instructions.

The picks

Products reviewed

Ranked in the order we recommend them. Prices shown are approximate and change often; the buttons always show the current Amazon price.

1

Little Partners Explore 'N Store Learning Tower

From the listing · not tested

A full-height tower with four platform settings.

Pros

  • + Four platform heights: 12.36, 14.33, 16.3 and 18.27 inches, per the listing
  • + Folding step for storage; holds up to 150 lbs
  • + Listed for ages 2 to 6; sold by Little Partners' own store

Cons

  • - About 33.5 inches tall and 18.7 lbs; a lot of kitchen floor
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$159.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
2

Little Partners Learn 'N Fold Learning Tower

From the listing · not tested

The Little Partners tower for kitchens with no room to leave one out.

Pros

  • + Folds to about 12 inches wide for storage, per the listing
  • + Anti-tip, anti-slide feet; holds up to 150 lbs
  • + Two platform heights: 12.36 and 18.01 inches

Cons

  • - Only two height settings, and listed as low in stock
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$199.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
3

Guidecraft Kitchen Helper Flex Toddler Tower

From the listing · not tested

A newer folding tower that converts to an adult step stool.

Pros

  • + Listed for 18 months through adulthood, up to 200 lbs
  • + Steel frame with beech wood; platform adjusts from 14 to 17 inches
  • + Folds flat with pivoting guardrails; no assembly required

Cons

  • - Guidecraft recalled its Classic and Contemporary Kitchen Helper towers in 2026; the Flex is a different model
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$149.95 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)
4

Little Partners 3-in-1 Growing Step Stool

From the listing · not tested

A step stool with rails for the bathroom sink as much as the kitchen.

Pros

  • + Three height positions for a sink or counter, per the listing
  • + Anti-tip, anti-slip feet and handrails
  • + Birch LVL wood; sold by Little Partners

Cons

  • - Handrails, not a full enclosure; the listing gives both 100 and 200 lbs as its limit
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$99.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)
5

Guidecraft High Rise Step Up

From the listing · not tested

A counter-height step for preschoolers past the tower stage.

Pros

  • + Textured, non-slip treads and hand-holds, per Guidecraft
  • + Carries up to 200 lbs
  • + Listed for ages 3 and up

Cons

  • - A climbing step with hand-holds, not an enclosed tower
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$89.95 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)
6

OXO Tot Step Stool

From the listing · not tested

A low, simple stool for the bathroom sink.

Pros

  • + Gives a 7-inch boost, per OXO
  • + Textured top and a non-slip base
  • + Holds up to 200 lbs; soft handles to carry it

Cons

  • - Only one step; won't reach a kitchen counter
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$20.79 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)
7

Dreambaby Step Stool

From the listing · not tested

A potty-training and handwashing stool for young toddlers.

Pros

  • + 5.6 inches high with 117 rubber dots for traction, per the listing
  • + Non-slip base, contoured to fit around a toilet
  • + Holds up to 175 lbs

Cons

  • - The lowest boost here
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$12.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:37 PM UTC (details)
8

BabyBjörn Step Stool

From the listing · not tested

A sturdy one-step stool from a long-standing baby brand.

Pros

  • + Stable design that is hard to tip over, per BabyBjörn
  • + PVC-free and BPA-free plastic
  • + Easy for a child to get out and put away

Cons

  • - The listing does not give a weight limit or step height
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$14.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 12:38 PM UTC (details)

Still comparing? Search Amazon

Today's Deals →

Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.

learning towertoddler towerkitchen helperstep stoolMontessoriCPSC recallsfall preventiontoddler

Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Keep reading

Keep reading