# Best Double Strollers (2026): Side-by-Side vs Tandem vs Convertible

> Nine double strollers sorted by layout, with width, weight, per-seat limits and car seat fit from brand pages and listings, plus the recalls to know about.

- Source: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers
- Publisher: NurseryProof (https://nurseryproof.com)
- Published: 2026-09-28
- Category: strollers-car-seats
- Tags: double strollers, strollers, twins, sit and stand strollers, convertible strollers, jogging strollers
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-09-28.
- Quick answer: For twins, a side-by-side if your doors allow it: the Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 Double holds 50 lb per seat. A tandem like the Graco Ready2Grow 2.0 stays single-width and takes two Graco infant seats. If the second baby isn't here yet, the UPPAbaby Vista V3 becomes a double with a RumbleSeat, sold separately.

## Key takeaways

- Side-by-side: both children get the same view and seat, but these are 26 to 31 in wide by their listings. Measure your narrowest doorway first.
- Tandem: one seat behind the other keeps a single-stroller width but makes a longer stroller that is harder to turn.
- Convertible: the UPPAbaby Vista V3 is a single until you add a RumbleSeat, which UPPAbaby rates from 3 months to 40 lb or 36 in.
- Sit-and-stand: an older child rides on a bench or platform behind a baby seat, as on the Joovy Caboose RS and Baby Trend Sit N' Stand Double 2.0.
- In 2024 CPSC recalled Besrey twin strollers, sold only on Amazon, for violating federal stroller rules. Every pick here is from an established brand and sold by Amazon.com.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 Double Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B07YGVFZFH) — The roomiest everyday side-by-side here.
   - Pros: Side-by-side seats for children up to 50 lb each, per the listing; Near-flat recline and adjustable calf supports; hand-operated parking brake; Works with Britax, Cybex, Graco and Maxi-Cosi infant seats; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: 36.5 lb and 29.25 in wide on the listing
2. **Baby Jogger City Tour 2 Double Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B07PMSS9NF) — The narrowest, lightest side-by-side here, for toddlers and travel.
   - Pros: Fits through a standard doorway, per the listing; 26.1 in wide on its dimensions; 23.3 lb with a one-step compact fold; Lockable front swivel wheels; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: Children up to 33 lb per seat; not compatible with infant car seats
3. **Jeep Destination Ultralight Side x Side Double Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B07B7QC8DV) — A side-by-side from Delta Children that fits standard 30 in doorways.
   - Pros: Fits through standard 30 inch doorways, per the listing; 29.5 in wide; 28.66 lb; folds to 29.5 x 30 x 13.4 in; Independent reclining seats; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: Children up to 40 lb per seat
4. **UPPAbaby Vista V3 Convertible Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B0D9XRK8RM) — The one to buy before a second baby arrives.
   - Pros: A single that becomes a double with the RumbleSeat, or holds up to 3 children, per UPPAbaby; Bassinet, Mesa and Aria infant seats attach without adapters; 30 lb basket; stands when folded; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: The RumbleSeat for a second child is sold separately
5. **UPPAbaby RumbleSeat V3** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B0DT4SH8PG) — The second seat that turns a Vista into a double.
   - Pros: Attaches to the lower position of the Vista V2 or V3 to make it a double; From 3 months to 40 lb or 36 in, whichever comes first; Parent- or forward-facing; adapters included; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: Only fits the Vista V2 and V3
6. **Graco Ready2Grow 2.0 Double Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B08K2KC6KD) — The tandem for twins in infant car seats.
   - Pros: Two seats, a bench seat and a standing platform in one tandem; Takes two Graco infant car seats at once, per Graco; Folds like a single, per the listing; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: 32 lb on the listing
7. **Joovy Caboose RS Sit & Stand Double Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B09WZMSGY7) — A sit-and-stand for a baby plus an older sibling.
   - Pros: Front seat plus a removable rear bench and a stand-on platform; Children from 3 months up to 55 lb, per the listing; magnetic buckles on both seats; 25 lb basket and parent organizer; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: Universal car seat adapter sold separately
8. **Baby Trend Sit N' Stand Double 2.0** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B0D9BW5G94) — A sit-and-stand double that takes Baby Trend infant seats.
   - Pros: Children sit front and back or stand on the rear platform; Takes Baby Trend EZ-Lift and Secure-Lift infant seats; Covered parent tray with two cup holders; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: 29 lb; the listing gives no per-seat limit
9. **BOB Gear Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie Jogging Stroller** (details: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B084CK55RW) — The double for parents who run.
   - Pros: Side-by-side jogging double with a swivel-locking front wheel and suspension; Fits through standard doors, per the listing; Works with most major car seats via a BOB adapter; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: 30.5 in wide on the listing, the widest here

This guide is for parents of twins or of two children close in age choosing a double stroller. Buy a side-by-side such as the Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 Double if your doors are wide enough, a tandem or sit-and-stand if they aren't, and a convertible like the UPPAbaby Vista V3 if the second child hasn't arrived yet.

The four layouts: **side-by-side** puts two seats next to each other; **tandem** puts one behind the other; **convertible** is a single that takes a second seat later; **sit-and-stand** gives an older child a bench or platform behind a baby seat.

**How we chose:** specs come from brand pages where we could load them and the Amazon listings otherwise, and we say which; we did not test the strollers, and every pick was sold by Amazon.com and in stock on September 28, 2026. Listings sometimes mix up length and width, so check the brand's spec sheet before you buy.

## Which layout fits your family

| Layout | Best for | Trade-off | Picks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Side-by-side | Twins, and two toddlers who both want a view | Wide: 26 to 31 in by the listings | City Mini GT2 Double, City Tour 2 Double, Jeep Destination, BOB Duallie |
| Tandem | Twins in infant car seats; narrow doors and aisles | Long, and heavier to turn | Graco Ready2Grow 2.0 |
| Convertible | A second baby on the way | The second seat is sold separately | UPPAbaby Vista V3 + RumbleSeat V3 |
| Sit-and-stand | A baby plus a preschooler who walks some of the way | The older child gets a bench, not a full seat | Joovy Caboose RS, Baby Trend Sit N' Stand 2.0 |

## Width, weight and car seat fit

| Stroller | Layout | Width (listing) | Weight | Per-seat limit | Infant car seat | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Baby Jogger City Tour 2 Double](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B07PMSS9NF) | Side-by-side | 26.1 in | 23.3 lb | 33 lb | Not compatible | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 Double](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B07YGVFZFH) | Side-by-side | 29.25 in | 36.5 lb | 50 lb | Britax, Cybex, Graco, Maxi-Cosi | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Jeep Destination Ultralight](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B07B7QC8DV) | Side-by-side | 29.5 in | 28.66 lb | 40 lb | Not listed | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [BOB Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B084CK55RW) | Side-by-side jogger | 30.5 in | 33.1 lb | Not stated | Most brands, with adapter | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [UPPAbaby Vista V3](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B0D9XRK8RM) + [RumbleSeat V3](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B0DT4SH8PG) | Convertible | 25.7 in | 27 lb, plus 8.4 lb seat | 50 lb top; 40 lb or 36 in RumbleSeat | Mesa, Aria, no adapters | see the current Amazon price on the page + see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Graco Ready2Grow 2.0](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B08K2KC6KD) | Tandem | Not clear on the listing | 32 lb | Not stated | Two Graco seats at once | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Joovy Caboose RS](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B09WZMSGY7) | Sit-and-stand | Not clear on the listing | 30.2 lb | 55 lb | Adapter sold separately | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Baby Trend Sit N' Stand Double 2.0](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers#product-B0D9BW5G94) | Sit-and-stand | 22.63 in | 29 lb | Not stated | Baby Trend EZ-Lift, Secure-Lift | see the current Amazon price on the page |

**Key point:** three side-by-side listings make a doorway claim. The Jeep says it fits "standard 30 inch doorways," and the City Tour 2 Double and BOB Duallie say "a standard doorway" or "standard doors." Doorways vary, so measure your front door, elevator and narrowest hallway before you pick a side-by-side.

## Side-by-side picks

The **Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 Double** has the highest per-seat limit of the everyday side-by-sides, 50 lb, with near-flat reclining seats, and it takes Britax, Cybex, Graco and Maxi-Cosi infant car seats. It is also the heaviest of them, 36.5 lb on the listing.

The **Baby Jogger City Tour 2 Double** is the narrowest and lightest: 26.1 in wide and 23.3 lb, with a one-step compact fold. It is for toddlers, not newborns: seats hold up to 33 lb, and it takes no infant car seats.

The **Jeep Destination Ultralight** is the one with a specific doorway claim, "standard 30 inch doorways": 29.5 in wide, 28.66 lb, with 40 lb per seat.


## For newborn twins

It depends on how you'll carry them.

- **In two infant car seats:** the **Graco Ready2Grow 2.0** takes two Graco infant car seats at once, per Graco, then converts to two seats, a bench and a standing platform as they grow.
- **In the stroller seats:** the **City Mini GT2 Double** reclines near-flat in both seats. Check the manual for the youngest age each seat allows without a car seat.

A car seat on a stroller is for getting from the car to where you're going. The [AAP says](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx) car seats "should be used only for a child's travel (not sleeping, feeding or any other use outside the vehicle)," so move a sleeping baby to a flat, firm surface when you arrive. Our [infant car seat comparison](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/nuna-pipa-alternatives) covers the seats themselves.

## A single that becomes a double

The **UPPAbaby Vista V3** is a full-size single until you add the **RumbleSeat V3**, sold separately, in the lower position. UPPAbaby rates the RumbleSeat "from 3 months to 40 lbs or 36″, whichever comes first." The main seat holds up to 50 lb, and the bassinet and the Mesa and Aria infant car seats attach without adapters. Our [Vista alternatives](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/uppababy-vista-alternatives) covers other convertibles.

We left out Mockingbird. It [recalled about 149,000 single-to-double strollers in November 2022](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2023/Mockingbird-Recalls-Single-to-Double-Strollers-Due-to-Fall-Hazard), and in 2023 [CPSC announced an expanded recall](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2023/Mockingbird-Expands-Recall-to-Include-Single-Strollers-Due-to-Fall-Hazard) of its single strollers because "the lower side of the stroller frame can crack." The remedy was a free frame reinforcement kit. Mockingbird wasn't sold by Amazon.com or a brand store we could confirm when we checked.

## Sit-and-stand, for a baby and a preschooler

- **Joovy Caboose RS:** a front seat from 3 months up to 55 lb, a removable rear bench and a stand-on platform, with magnetic buckles on both seats.
- **Baby Trend Sit N' Stand Double 2.0:** takes Baby Trend infant seats and has a covered parent tray.

Either suits a baby plus a 3- or 4-year-old who walks most of the way and rides when tired.


## For running

The **BOB Gear Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie** is a side-by-side jogger with a swivel-locking front wheel and suspension; at 30.5 in on the listing it is the widest pick here. For the age to start running and why a hand brake and wrist strap matter, see our [jogging stroller guide](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-jogging-strollers).

## Why we stuck to established brands

In July 2024, [CPSC announced a recall](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2024/Stiger-Recalls-Besrey-Twins-Strollers-Due-to-Entrapment-Fall-and-Choking-Hazards-Violation-of-Federal-Regulation-for-Strollers-Sold-Exclusively-on-Amazon-com) of about 3,045 Besrey twin strollers "sold exclusively on Amazon.com," saying the stroller "violates multiple safety regulations for strollers," including an entrapment hazard in the front seat and restraint failures that posed a fall hazard. Every pick here is from an established brand and sold by Amazon.com.

**Bottom line:** a side-by-side for twins if your doors allow it, a tandem or sit-and-stand if they don't, and a convertible like the Vista V3 if the second child isn't here yet. Check a used double in our [recall checker](https://nurseryproof.com/recalls), and compare single strollers in our [fold size and weight chart](https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/stroller-fold-size-weight-chart).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Will a side-by-side double stroller fit through a door?

It depends on the door. The side-by-sides here run from 26.1 in (City Tour 2 Double) to 30.5 in (BOB Duallie) on their listings, and the Jeep Destination's listing says it fits "standard 30 inch doorways." Measure your narrowest door first.

### Is a side-by-side or tandem stroller better for twins?

A side-by-side if your doors are wide enough, since both twins get the same seat and view. A tandem stays single-stroller width, and the Graco Ready2Grow 2.0 takes two infant car seats at once.

### Can a single stroller become a double?

Some can. The UPPAbaby Vista V3 converts with the RumbleSeat V3, sold separately, which holds a child from 3 months to 40 lb or 36 in.

### Which double strollers have been recalled?

In our CPSC data since 2023: Mockingbird's frame-crack recalls and the 2024 Besrey twin stroller recall. Check any stroller in our [recall checker](https://nurseryproof.com/recalls) before you buy, especially secondhand.

---

*NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these strollers; dimensions and limits are the makers' and listings' own, so check the manual before you buy.*

## Sources

- American Academy of Pediatrics: [Car Safety Seats Information for Families](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [Mockingbird Recalls Single to Double Strollers Due to Fall Hazard](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2023/Mockingbird-Recalls-Single-to-Double-Strollers-Due-to-Fall-Hazard)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [CPSC announced an expanded recall](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2023/Mockingbird-Expands-Recall-to-Include-Single-Strollers-Due-to-Fall-Hazard)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [CPSC announced a recall](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2024/Stiger-Recalls-Besrey-Twins-Strollers-Due-to-Entrapment-Fall-and-Choking-Hazards-Violation-of-Federal-Regulation-for-Strollers-Sold-Exclusively-on-Amazon-com)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-28
Canonical URL: https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers
How to cite: "Best Double Strollers (2026): Side-by-Side vs Tandem vs Convertible", NurseryProof, https://nurseryproof.com/strollers-car-seats/best-double-strollers (checked 2026-09-28).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate NurseryProof earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.