# Best Swaddles (2026), and When to Stop Swaddling

> Seven swaddles compared on fastening, TOG, size and transition options, with the AAP's rules for safe swaddling and exactly when to stop.

- Source: https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-swaddles-and-when-to-stop
- Publisher: NurseryProof (https://nurseryproof.com)
- Published: 2026-09-28
- Category: sleep-nursery
- Tags: swaddles, swaddling, safe sleep, sleep sacks, transition swaddle, newborn sleep
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; prices are list prices checked 2026-09-28.
- Quick answer: Stop swaddling at the first sign your baby is trying to roll, which the AAP says can start around 2 months. Until then, a zip or hook-and-loop swaddle like the HALO SleepSack Swaddle ($34.95) or Love to Dream Swaddle Up ($34.95) is simpler than a blanket. Always place a swaddled baby on their back; never use a weighted swaddle.

## Key takeaways

- Stop at the first sign of rolling: the AAP says some babies start working on it as early as 2 months.
- A swaddled baby goes on their back only, on a firm, flat surface, with nothing else in the crib.
- Never use a weighted swaddle; the AAP says it can put too much pressure on a baby's chest and lungs.
- Leave room at the hips: the AAP and hip experts say legs should be able to bend up and out.
- All seven are sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store; we chose them from the listings and did not test them.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **HALO SleepSack Swaddle, Cotton, 1.5 TOG, Newborn** (Amazon price $34.95 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001D7E0YQ?tag=nurseryproof-20) — A familiar wing-and-zipper swaddle with a built-in path to arms-out; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: 3-way wings: arms in, one arm out, or both arms out, per HALO; Inverted zipper opens from the bottom for diaper changes; Sleeveless 100% cotton; sold by HALO's own store
   - Cons: Newborn size fits 6 to 12 lbs, so you may need the next size soon
2. **HALO SleepSack Swaddle, Micro-Fleece, 3.0 TOG, Small** (Amazon price $17.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0H3WVR8YH?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The warm option for a cold nursery; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: 3.0 TOG for cooler nurseries, 61 to 64°F, per HALO; Recognized as "Hip Healthy" by the International Hip Dysplasia Institute, per the listing; Two-way zipper and 3-way wings; sold by HALO's own store
   - Cons: Too warm for most rooms kept at normal temperatures
3. **Love to Dream Swaddle Up, 1.0 TOG, Small (8 to 13 lbs)** (Amazon price $34.95 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0081GJ038?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The simplest swaddle to put on, for babies who fight having their arms down; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Arms-up design so babies can reach hands to mouth, per Love to Dream; One two-way zipper, no hook-and-loop or snaps; 1.0 TOG for rooms at 68 to 75°F; sold by Love to Dream's own store
   - Cons: No arms-out option in this version; transitioning needs the separate 2-in-1 bag
4. **Love to Dream Swaddle Up 2-in-1 Transition Bag, 1.0 TOG (13 to 19 lbs)** (Amazon price $42.95 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0081GIZ52?tag=nurseryproof-20) — Built for the move from swaddle to arms-free sleep; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Zip-off wings: free one arm, then both, per Love to Dream; Designed to keep the same sleep sack through the change; Sold by Love to Dream's own store
   - Cons: Costs more than the standard Swaddle Up
5. **SwaddleMe Original Swaddle, Small/Medium (0 to 3 Months)** (Amazon price $22.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07C8L4CTZ?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The lowest-priced wing swaddle here, for the newborn weeks; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Adjustable wings with hook-and-loop closures; Fits 7 to 14 lbs and up to 26 inches, per the listing; 100% cotton, machine washable; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: SwaddleMe says it's for babies who aren't rolling and like arms in; no arms-out option
6. **Comfy Cubs Swaddle Blanket with Zipper, Small (2-Pack)** (Amazon price $24.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BLHWXJPN?tag=nurseryproof-20) — A two-pack so one can be in the wash; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Wrap-and-zip design, per Comfy Cubs; Fits 0 to 3 months, 7 to 14 lbs, up to 26 inches; Two swaddles in the pack; sold by the Comfy Cubs store
   - Cons: The listing does not state a TOG rating or fabric
7. **aden + anais Essentials Cotton Muslin Swaddle Blankets (4-Pack)** (Amazon price $39.95 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DVCGX73C?tag=nurseryproof-20) — For parents who want to wrap a traditional swaddle and reuse the blankets later; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Thin, breathable 100% cotton muslin, per aden + anais; Large 44 x 44 inch blankets that double as burp cloths or stroller covers; Four blankets; sold by Halo Dream, Inc., which owns aden + anais
   - Cons: A blanket swaddle takes practice and can come unwrapped, which the AAP warns about

Swaddling can calm a newborn, but it has a short shelf life and a few firm rules. The [AAP's guide to safe swaddling](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/diapers-clothing/Pages/Swaddling-Is-it-Safe.aspx) puts the main rule simply: "Stop swaddling as soon as your baby shows any signs of trying to roll over."

This guide covers the swaddles worth considering, how to use one safely, and what to switch to next.

**How we chose:**

- We did not test these swaddles. Features, sizes and TOG ratings come from each listing and are labelled as the brand's claims.
- Each is sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and was in stock when we checked in September 2026.
- Safety guidance comes from the AAP's pages on [safe swaddling](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/diapers-clothing/Pages/Swaddling-Is-it-Safe.aspx) and [safe sleep](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/sleep/Pages/a-parents-guide-to-safe-sleep.aspx), plus the [International Hip Dysplasia Institute's swaddling statement](https://hipdysplasia.org/swaddling-statement/).
- None of these swaddles is weighted.
- Prices are list prices; sale prices vary.

## How Do the Swaddles Compare?

| Swaddle | Style | Closure | Arms-out option | TOG (per brand) | Size in this listing | Sold by | List price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [HALO SleepSack Swaddle, Cotton](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001D7E0YQ?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Wings + sack | Hook-and-loop wings, zipper | Yes, one or both | 1.5 | Newborn, 6–12 lbs | HALO | $34.95 |
| [HALO SleepSack Swaddle, Micro-Fleece](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0H3WVR8YH?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Wings + sack | Wings, two-way zipper | Yes, one or both | 3.0 | Small, 3–6 months | HALO | $34.99 |
| [Love to Dream Swaddle Up](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0081GJ038?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Arms-up sack | Two-way zipper | No | 1.0 | Small, 8–13 lbs | Love to Dream | $34.95 |
| [Love to Dream Swaddle Up 2-in-1](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0081GIZ52?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Arms-up sack | Zipper, zip-off wings | Yes, one or both | 1.0 | 13–19 lbs | Love to Dream | $42.95 |
| [SwaddleMe Original](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07C8L4CTZ?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Wings | Hook-and-loop | No | Not stated | S/M, 7–14 lbs | Amazon.com | $22.99 |
| [Comfy Cubs with Zipper (2-pack)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BLHWXJPN?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Wrap + zipper | Zipper and wrap | No | Not stated | S, 7–14 lbs | Comfy Cubs | $24.99 |
| [aden + anais Muslin (4-pack)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DVCGX73C?tag=nurseryproof-20) | Blanket | You wrap it | You choose | Not stated | 44 × 44 in | aden + anais | $39.95 |

## When Should You Stop Swaddling?

Stop at the first sign your baby is trying to roll. That can come earlier than many parents expect.

- **AAP swaddling guide:** "Some babies start working on rolling as early as 2 months of age, but every baby is different."
- **AAP safe sleep guide:** "Rolling over usually happens around 3 to 4 months, but it can happen earlier."
- **Why it matters:** the AAP says "the risk of suffocation is higher if your baby rolls to their stomach while they're swaddled."

The same rule covers wearable swaddles. The AAP says sleep sacks "that compress the arms, chest and body should stop once a baby shows signs of starting to roll over." But "sleep sacks that do not swaddle and allow the baby to move freely can be used as long as you want."

> **Key point:** watch for the first attempts at rolling, not a birthday. The HALO listing, too, says to discontinue use "when baby begins rolling over or attempting to escape from the swaddle."

### What should you switch to?

A sleep sack that doesn't swaddle, with arms free. Two of the picks here are built for the change:

- The **HALO SleepSack Swaddle** wings can be used arms-out.
- The **Love to Dream Swaddle Up 2-in-1** has zip-off wings, so you can free one arm, then both.

On arms in or out during the transition, the AAP says: "There is no evidence with regard to SIDS risk related to the arms swaddled in or out."

For the next step, see our [sleep sacks by TOG guide](https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-sleep-sacks-by-tog).


## How Do You Swaddle Safely?

The [AAP's swaddling guidance](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/diapers-clothing/Pages/Swaddling-Is-it-Safe.aspx) comes down to five rules:

1. **On the back, every time.** "If babies are swaddled, they should be placed only on their back and monitored so they don't roll over." Use a firm, flat surface.
2. **Nothing loose in the crib.** "A loose blanket, including a swaddling blanket that comes unwrapped, could cover your baby's face and increase the risk of suffocation."
3. **No weighted swaddles.** "Do not use weighted swaddles or weighted blankets, which can place too much pressure on a baby's chest and lungs." The [AAP safe sleep guide](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/sleep/Pages/a-parents-guide-to-safe-sleep.aspx) adds: no weighted objects like rice bags inside the swaddle.
4. **Not too tight at the chest.** The AAP says you should be able to fit "at least two or three fingers between the baby's chest and the swaddle."
5. **Don't let your baby overheat.** Signs include "sweating, damp hair, flushed cheeks, heat rash and rapid breathing."

Know too that swaddling is for comfort, not protection. The AAP safe sleep guide says "swaddling doesn't reduce the risk of SIDS." Its swaddling page also notes that swaddling "may decrease a baby's arousal," making it harder for a baby to wake.

> **Pro tip:** if you use a blanket, the AAP says to "use only a thin blanket for swaddling." Zip and hook-and-loop swaddles are designed so they don't come unwrapped, which is why many parents find them easier at 3 a.m.

For the full list of what can and can't go in the crib, read our [safe sleep guide](https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/safe-sleep-guide-whats-safe-in-a-crib).

## How Do You Keep Hips Healthy?

Tight wrapping at the legs is the second big risk. The AAP says "straightening and tightly wrapping a baby's legs can lead to hip dislocation or hip dysplasia." It points to "hip-healthy swaddling" that "allows the baby's legs to bend up and out."

The [International Hip Dysplasia Institute's position statement](https://hipdysplasia.org/swaddling-statement/) says:

- "Swaddling infants with the hips and knees in an extended position increases the risk of hip dysplasia and dislocation."
- Hips should sit "in slight flexion and abduction," with the knees also slightly bent.
- Another method is to "swaddle only the upper extremities and allow the lower limbs to move freely."

Every wearable swaddle here has a sack below the waist rather than a wrap around the legs. The HALO Micro-Fleece listing says the swaddle is recognized as "Hip Healthy" by the institute, and Love to Dream says its fit keeps "hips free."

> **Best for:** most newborns, a zip or wing swaddle with a roomy sack below the waist. Choose the HALO if you want a built-in arms-out option, or the Love to Dream if your baby resists having arms down.


## What About Swaddling at Daycare?

Don't assume you can. The AAP says "some child care centers may have a policy against swaddling infants in their care." Its reasons: the higher risk of SIDS or suffocation if a baby rolls while swaddled, plus overheating and hip dysplasia.

Babies who aren't used to being swaddled may also react differently the first time, and may find it harder to wake. Ask your provider about their policy before your baby starts.

## Which Swaddles Did We Leave Out?

- **Weighted swaddles and sleep sacks.** The AAP advises against them.
- **Dreamland Baby Classic Swaddle.** Its listing suggests leaving both arms out "for rolling babies," but the swaddle band still hugs the body. The AAP says sleep sacks that compress the chest and body should stop at the first signs of rolling.
- **SwaddleMe multi-packs** sold by a third-party reseller, not Amazon.com or the brand.
- **Happiest Baby Sleepea.** Only the X-Large size was listed, with limited stock, when we checked.

Before using a hand-me-down swaddle, check it in our [recall checker](https://nurseryproof.com/recalls).

> **Bottom line:** swaddle only in the newborn weeks, always on the back, never weighted, and with room at the hips. Stop at the first sign of rolling and move to a sleep sack that doesn't swaddle.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### When should you stop swaddling a baby?

As soon as your baby shows any sign of trying to roll over. The AAP says some babies start working on rolling as early as 2 months, and that rolling usually happens around 3 to 4 months but can come earlier.

### Is it safe for a baby to sleep swaddled?

The AAP says a swaddled baby should be placed only on their back, on a firm, flat surface, and monitored so they don't roll. Keep the crib free of loose blankets, don't use weighted swaddles, and watch for overheating. The AAP also notes that swaddling doesn't reduce the risk of SIDS.

### Are weighted swaddles safe?

No. The AAP says not to use weighted swaddles or weighted blankets because they can place too much pressure on a baby's chest and lungs, and not to use weighted objects like rice bags inside the swaddle.

### Should a baby be swaddled with arms in or out?

The AAP says there is no evidence on SIDS risk related to arms swaddled in or out. Arms-out is a common way to transition. Once your baby shows signs of rolling, stop using any swaddle or sleep sack that compresses the arms, chest and body.

### What is a hip-healthy swaddle?

One that lets the baby's legs bend up and out at the hips. The International Hip Dysplasia Institute warns that swaddling with the hips and knees straight increases the risk of hip dysplasia, and says another option is to swaddle only the upper body and let the legs move freely.

### What comes after a swaddle?

A sleep sack that doesn't swaddle and lets your baby move freely. The AAP says these can be used as long as you want. Pick one by room temperature using our sleep sacks by TOG guide.

---

*NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This guide summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice; ask your pediatrician about your baby's sleep.*

## Sources

- American Academy of Pediatrics: [AAP's guide to safe swaddling](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/diapers-clothing/Pages/Swaddling-Is-it-Safe.aspx)
- American Academy of Pediatrics: [AAP safe sleep guide](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/sleep/Pages/a-parents-guide-to-safe-sleep.aspx)
- International Hip Dysplasia Institute: [International Hip Dysplasia Institute's swaddling statement](https://hipdysplasia.org/swaddling-statement)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-28
Canonical URL: https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-swaddles-and-when-to-stop
How to cite: "Best Swaddles (2026), and When to Stop Swaddling", NurseryProof, https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-swaddles-and-when-to-stop (checked 2026-09-28).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate NurseryProof earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.