# Best Play Yards (2026): For Sleep, Travel, and Play

> Eight play yards and travel cribs compared on weight, folded size, bassinet, changer and limits, with the CPSC standard and the AAP's bare-is-best rules.

- Source: https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-play-yards
- Publisher: NurseryProof (https://nurseryproof.com)
- Published: 2026-09-28
- Category: sleep-nursery
- Tags: play yards, pack n play, travel crib, portable crib, safe sleep, baby travel
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; prices are list prices checked 2026-09-28.
- Quick answer: A play yard that meets the CPSC standard (16 CFR 1221) is a safe sleep space, and the AAP names it alongside cribs and bassinets. For home, the Graco Simple Solutions ($119.99) adds a bassinet and changer. For travel, the BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light (13 lbs) and Guava Lotus (15 lbs) fold smallest. Use it bare: no extra mattress.

## Key takeaways

- The AAP lists a play yard that meets CPSC safety standards as a safe place for a baby to sleep, alongside a crib, bassinet or portable crib.
- Every play yard sold in the US must meet the federal standard at 16 CFR part 1221, which covers children under 35 inches who can't climb out.
- Use it bare: CPSC says nothing but a fitted sheet, and it has recalled aftermarket play yard mattresses that were too thick to fit.
- Stop using the play yard once your child is 35 inches tall or can climb out, whichever comes first.
- All eight are sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store; we chose them from the listings and brand pages and did not test them.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **Graco Simple Solutions Pack 'n Play Playard** (Amazon price $95.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BS72HZXW?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The home play yard with the most built in, a bassinet for the early weeks and a changer beside it; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Full-size infant bassinet and an integrated diaper changer, per the listing; Graco says folding feet and wheels give a 20% more compact fold than its other playards; Converts to a toddler playard for play or sleep; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: 22.9 lbs, per the listing: a home play yard more than a carry-on one; Weight limits for the bassinet and changer aren't on the listing; check the manual
2. **Graco On the Go Zip DLX Pack 'n Play Playard** (Amazon price $79.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DM6LNT9W?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The straightforward pick if you want a bare play yard for naps at a grandparent's house; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: A plain play yard with nothing extra to go wrong: the simplest bare sleep space here; Graco says it folds quickly and compactly for travel; Sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: No bassinet or changer is mentioned on the listing; 18.5 lbs, per the listing, and no folded size is given
3. **Baby Trend Nursery Center Playard** (Amazon price $63.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F9FLEL4?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The budget way to get a bassinet level for the newborn weeks; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Removable full-size bassinet at the lowest price here; Two large wheels with brakes and a tote bag, per the listing; Sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: The three toys are for awake time; CPSC's rule for a sleeping baby is nothing but a fitted sheet; About 20.5 lbs, and the listing doesn't state weight or height limits
4. **Chicco Alfa Lite Nest Travel Playard and Bassinet** (Amazon price $219.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GL4LRVCL?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The lightest travel play yard here that still has a newborn bassinet; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: 15 lbs with a zip-on bassinet that stays attached when folded, per Chicco; Chicco's limits: bassinet up to 15 lbs, playard up to 30 lbs or 35 inches; GREENGUARD Gold certified for low chemical emissions, per the listing
   - Cons: Chicco gives a carton size (24 x 10 x 22 in), not a folded size; No changer
5. **Guava Lotus Travel Crib** (Amazon price $249.90 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AKKDSNG?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The most packable full-size travel crib here, for families who fly; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Guava lists its packed size as 24 x 12 x 8 in and 15 lbs with the bag, carried as a backpack; Guava's page cites the US play yard standard, 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406; Side zip door; sold on Amazon by Guava Family, the brand
   - Cons: No bassinet; the mattress sits on the floor, so you bend low to lay a newborn down; Sheets are sold separately, per the listing
6. **BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light with Fitted Sheet** (Amazon price $229.98 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D6QKJBWV?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The lightest, flattest-folding travel crib on this list; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: 13 lbs with the carry bag and 19 x 23.5 x 5.5 in folded, per BabyBjörn: the smallest fold here; Mattress and an organic cotton fitted sheet included in this bundle; BabyBjörn says ages 0-3, or until your child can climb out; sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: No bassinet or changer; the mattress is low to the floor; BabyBjörn's page names the European EN 716 standard rather than the US one
7. **Joovy Room² Portable Playpen** (Amazon price $199.90 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01BMAW2UM?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The roomy home play yard for crawlers and twins, less for travel; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Nearly 10 square feet inside, per Joovy, big enough for twins; Padded mattress and waterproof sheet included, for 0 months up to 35 inches; Sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: 27.7 lbs, per the listing: the heaviest here; No bassinet or changer
8. **UPPAbaby Remi 3-in-1 Portable Playard** (Amazon price $299.99 on 2026-09-27, buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B5YB2Q9P?tag=nurseryproof-20) — The bedside bassinet and play yard in one, for room-sharing in the early months; chosen from the listing, not tested.
   - Pros: Zip-on mesh bassinet from birth to 20 lbs; playard from birth to 35 inches, per the listing; Sets up and breaks down with one hand, per UPPAbaby; Sold by Amazon.com
   - Cons: The changing station is an extra-cost accessory; 20 lbs, and no folded size is given on the listing

A play yard does three jobs: a safe place to sleep, somewhere to put a baby down while you shower, and a crib you can take on a trip. It only works as a sleep space if you keep it bare.

The [AAP's guide to safe sleep](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/sleep/Pages/a-parents-guide-to-safe-sleep.aspx) says to place your baby in "a crib, bassinet, portable crib or play yard that meets the safety standards of the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)." This guide compares eight that do, and explains what the standard means for the mattress, the bassinet, and when to stop.

**How we chose:**

- We did not test these play yards. Weights, folded sizes and limits come from each brand's page or the Amazon listing, and are labelled that way.
- Each is sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and was in stock when we checked in September 2026.
- We checked every brand against our database of CPSC recalls since 2023.
- Prices are list prices; sale prices vary.

## How Do the Play Yards Compare?

| Play yard | Weight | Folded size | Bassinet | Changer | Limits (per brand) | Sold by | List price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Graco Simple Solutions](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BS72HZXW?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 22.9 lbs | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not on listing | Amazon.com | $119.99 |
| [Graco On the Go Zip DLX](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DM6LNT9W?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 18.5 lbs | Not stated | Not listed | Not listed | Not on listing | Amazon.com | $99.99 |
| [Baby Trend Nursery Center](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F9FLEL4?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 20.5 lbs | Not stated | Yes, removable | No | Not on listing | Amazon.com | $79.99 |
| [Chicco Alfa Lite Nest](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GL4LRVCL?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 15 lbs | Carton 24 x 10 x 22 in | Yes, zip-on | No | Bassinet 15 lbs; playard 30 lbs or 35 in | Amazon.com | $219.99 |
| [Guava Lotus Travel Crib](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AKKDSNG?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 15 lbs with bag | 24 x 12 x 8 in | No | No | Newborn to 3, or until they climb out | Guava Family | $299.95 |
| [BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D6QKJBWV?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 13 lbs with bag | 19 x 23.5 x 5.5 in | No | No | 0-3 years, or until they climb out | Amazon.com | $237.98 |
| [Joovy Room²](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01BMAW2UM?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 27.7 lbs | Not stated | No | No | 0 months to 35 in | Amazon.com | $199.90 |
| [UPPAbaby Remi](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B5YB2Q9P?tag=nurseryproof-20) | 20 lbs | Not stated | Yes, zip-on | Add-on | Bassinet to 20 lbs; playard to 35 in | Amazon.com | $299.99 |

Folded sizes come from the brand's own page: Guava's product page, BabyBjörn's product page, and Chicco's specifications (which give only the shipping carton). Where a brand page wasn't available to us and the listing doesn't say, we've written "not stated" rather than guess.

## Is a Play Yard Safe for Sleep?

Yes, if it meets the federal standard and you use it the way it was designed. The AAP guide puts it plainly: a play yard that meets CPSC standards is one of the safe places for a baby to sleep. CPSC's [safe sleep guidance](https://www.cpsc.gov/SafeSleep) agrees, telling parents to "use products intended for sleep including cribs, bassinets, play yards and bedside sleepers that meet federal requirements."

The federal standard is specific. According to [CPSC's business guidance on play yards](https://www.cpsc.gov/Business--Manufacturing/Business-Education/Business-Guidance/Play-Yards), the rule is codified at 16 C.F.R. part 1221 and "incorporates by reference ASTM F406." It covers play yards for "a child who cannot climb out and is less than 35 in. (890 mm) in height."

Two details from that page matter when you shop:

- **Bassinet attachments are covered too.** CPSC says play yards with bassinet attachments "must meet the play yard requirements and the bassinet requirements."
- **The mattress is part of the standard.** The list of requirements includes the mattress and mattress vertical displacement, so the pad that comes with the play yard is part of what was checked.

> **Key point:** a play yard is a safe sleep space as a whole product: the frame, the mesh and the pad it came with. Change the pad, and you've changed what met the standard.

## Why Should You Skip the Extra Mattress?

Play yard pads are thin, and parents often want something softer. CPSC's recalls show why that's a mistake.

In July 2025, CPSC announced a recall of [Creekliybear aftermarket play yard mattresses sold on Amazon](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2025/Creekliybear-Play-Yard-Mattresses-Recalled-Due-to-Risk-of-Serious-Injury-or-Death-from-Entrapment-Hazard-Violates-Mandatory-Standard-for-Crib-Mattresses-Sold-on-Amazon-by-Kbabyea). CPSC said the mattresses "exceed thickness requirements and may not adequately fit certain play yards, posing a deadly entrapment hazard."

It went on: "Babies can suffocate in gaps between an undersized mattress, or extra padding, and side walls of a product." Our recall database lists several more aftermarket play yard mattress recalls since 2023 for the same kinds of hazard.

CPSC's "Bare is Best" rule covers the rest: "nothing but a fitted sheet in a crib, bassinet or play yard." That rules out:

- A second mattress or topper on the play yard pad.
- Blankets, pillows, bumpers or positioners.
- Toys, including the ones that come with some play yards, once your baby is asleep.

> **Pro tip:** buy fitted sheets made for your exact model. Both BabyBjörn and Guava sell sheets cut for their travel cribs, and the BabyBjörn bundle here includes one.


## Bassinet, Changer or Neither?

A bassinet level raises the sleeping surface so you don't have to bend to the floor for a newborn. It's useful for room-sharing, which the AAP recommends for at least the first six months, "close to your bed—but not in the same bed."

Bassinet levels have their own, lower limits. Chicco puts the Alfa Lite Nest bassinet at 15 lbs; UPPAbaby puts the Remi's at 20 lbs. When your baby reaches the limit your manual gives, the bassinet comes off and they sleep on the main floor.

A changer is handy at home, but it's a convenience, not a sleep feature. Of our picks, only the Graco Simple Solutions has one built in, and the Remi offers one as an accessory. Never leave a baby on a changer, and never let them sleep there.

> **Best for:** a newborn in your room, a play yard with a bassinet level, such as the Graco Simple Solutions or the UPPAbaby Remi. For a crawler at home, the roomy Joovy Room².

Weighing a play yard against a bedside bassinet or a smart sleeper? Our [SNOO alternatives guide](https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/snoo-alternatives) covers bassinets that meet the same federal standards.

## What Matters for Travel?

Weight and folded size. The three travel cribs here are 13 to 15 lbs, while the home play yards run 18 to 28 lbs.

- **BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light:** 13 lbs with the bag and 19 x 23.5 x 5.5 in folded, per BabyBjörn. The smallest fold here.
- **Guava Lotus:** 15 lbs with the bag and 24 x 12 x 8 in, per Guava. It carries as a backpack, and Guava's page cites the US play yard standard, 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406.
- **Chicco Alfa Lite Nest:** 15 lbs with a bassinet that stays attached when folded, per Chicco.

The floor-level travel cribs have no bassinet, so the mattress sits low. They also have no upper weight limit: BabyBjörn and Guava both say to stop at about age 3, or when your child can climb out.

One caution when you arrive: the AAP guide says that alternative sleep surfaces, including travel bassinets and baby tents, are only safe if they meet the federal standards for cribs, bassinets, portable cribs or play yards. "If a product doesn't meet federal safety standards, don't use it." That applies to the crib a hotel lends you, too. Look for the model, then check it in our [recall checker](https://nurseryproof.com/recalls).


## Did Any of These Brands Have Recalls?

We checked each brand against the CPSC recalls in our database, which runs from January 2023:

- **No play yard recalls** for Graco, Chicco, Guava, BabyBjörn, Joovy, Baby Trend or UPPAbaby turned up.
- **Guava Family** recalled its Roam strollers in November 2024 for fall and injury hazards. That recall doesn't cover the Lotus Travel Crib.
- **The play yard recalls we did find** were for products sold on Amazon by small third-party sellers. They include [Anna Queen play yards](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2026/Play-Yards-Recalled-Due-to-Risk-of-Serious-Injury-or-Death-from-Suffocation-and-Entrapment-Hazards-Violate-Mandatory-Standard-for-Play-Yards-Sold-on-Amazon-by-Anna-Queen), recalled in November 2025. CPSC said infants "can become entrapped under the mattress or between the side of the play yard and the mattress."

That's one reason we link only to listings sold by Amazon.com or the brand. For a hand-me-down play yard, search the model in our [recall checker](https://nurseryproof.com/recalls) before using it.

## Which Play Yards Did We Leave Out?

- **4moms Breeze.** Only Breeze sheets and accessories came up as in stock from Amazon.com when we checked, not the play yard itself.
- **Chicco Dash.** Listed with a shipping lead time rather than in stock.
- **Summer Infant Pop 'N Play.** It's an indoor/outdoor playpen. We kept this list to play yards sold as sleep spaces.
- **Munchkin Ultra-Lite.** Listed with only limited stock.
- **Unbranded play yards from third-party sellers**, and any aftermarket play yard mattress.

If you're building a registry on a budget, our [baby registry checklist](https://nurseryproof.com/blog/baby-registry-checklist-on-a-budget) makes a play yard the one sleep space to buy if you can only buy one.

> **Bottom line:** pick by where you'll use it. At home, a Graco with a bassinet and changer; for flying, the BabyBjörn or Guava. Whichever you choose, use the pad it came with and a fitted sheet, nothing else. Stop at 35 inches or when your child can climb out.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Can a baby sleep in a play yard every night?

Yes. The AAP lists a play yard that meets CPSC safety standards as a safe place for a baby to sleep, alongside a crib, bassinet or portable crib. Put your baby on their back, on the play yard's own pad, with only a fitted sheet.

### Can I add a thicker mattress to a Pack 'n Play?

No. CPSC has recalled aftermarket play yard mattresses because they exceeded thickness requirements and may not fit, posing a deadly entrapment hazard. CPSC says babies can suffocate in gaps between an undersized mattress, or extra padding, and the side walls. Use the pad the play yard came with.

### When should you stop using a play yard?

The federal standard covers play yards for a child who cannot climb out and is less than 35 inches tall. Stop at whichever comes first. Bassinet levels have lower limits, such as 15 lbs for the Chicco Alfa Lite Nest and 20 lbs for the UPPAbaby Remi, so check your manual.

### What standard do play yards have to meet?

In the US, 16 C.F.R. part 1221, which incorporates the ASTM F406 standard with CPSC's changes. According to CPSC, a play yard with a bassinet attachment must meet both the play yard and the bassinet requirements.

### What's the lightest play yard for travel?

Of our picks, the BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light, at 13 lbs with its bag and 19 x 23.5 x 5.5 inches folded, per BabyBjörn. The Guava Lotus and the Chicco Alfa Lite Nest are both 15 lbs; the Chicco adds a newborn bassinet.

### Are hotel cribs and travel bassinets safe?

Only if they meet federal standards. The AAP says alternative sleep surfaces, including travel bassinets and baby tents, are safe only if they comply with the standards for cribs, bassinets, portable cribs or play yards. Check a borrowed crib's model in a recall search and use it bare.

For everything that can and can't go in a sleep space, read our [safe sleep guide](https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/safe-sleep-guide-whats-safe-in-a-crib).

*NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This guide summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice; ask your pediatrician about your baby's sleep.*

## Sources

- American Academy of Pediatrics: [AAP's guide to safe sleep](https://www.healthychildren.org/English/ages-stages/baby/sleep/Pages/a-parents-guide-to-safe-sleep.aspx)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [Safe Sleep](https://www.cpsc.gov/SafeSleep)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [CPSC's business guidance on play yards](https://www.cpsc.gov/Business--Manufacturing/Business-Education/Business-Guidance/Play-Yards)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [Creekliybear aftermarket play yard mattresses sold on Amazon](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2025/Creekliybear-Play-Yard-Mattresses-Recalled-Due-to-Risk-of-Serious-Injury-or-Death-from-Entrapment-Hazard-Violates-Mandatory-Standard-for-Crib-Mattresses-Sold-on-Amazon-by-Kbabyea)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: [Anna Queen play yards](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2026/Play-Yards-Recalled-Due-to-Risk-of-Serious-Injury-or-Death-from-Suffocation-and-Entrapment-Hazards-Violate-Mandatory-Standard-for-Play-Yards-Sold-on-Amazon-by-Anna-Queen)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-28
Canonical URL: https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-play-yards
How to cite: "Best Play Yards (2026): For Sleep, Travel, and Play", NurseryProof, https://nurseryproof.com/sleep-nursery/best-play-yards (checked 2026-09-28).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate NurseryProof earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.