# Amazon vs Target vs Babylist Baby Registry (2026): Completion Discounts, Welcome Boxes, and Return Windows Compared

> Amazon, Target, and Babylist baby registries compared on their own published terms: 15% completion discounts, welcome boxes, returns, and cash funds.

- Source: https://nurseryproof.com/blog/amazon-vs-target-vs-babylist-registry
- Publisher: NurseryProof (https://nurseryproof.com)
- Published: 2026-09-27
- Category: blog
- Tags: baby registry, amazon baby registry, target baby registry, babylist, registry comparison, completion discount

## Key takeaways

- Each registry gives a 15% completion discount, but the caps and rules differ: Amazon up to $300, Babylist up to $600 on Babylist Shop items, Target storewide and redeemable twice.
- Amazon's welcome box needs an active Prime membership, 10 unique items, and over $10 in registry purchases.
- Target's $100 welcome kit needs Target Circle, 10 unique items, and over $10 purchased; shipping and handling fees apply.
- Babylist lets you add items from any store by URL, and its Hello Baby Box ships for $8.95 plus tax after a $30 Babylist Shop purchase.
- Amazon lists 365-day returns on eligible registry gifts; Babylist accepts unopened Babylist Shop returns within 9 months.

Amazon, Target, and Babylist all promise a completion discount and a free box of samples, but the fine print differs in ways that matter: who qualifies, how much the discount can save, and how long you have to return a duplicate stroller.

**How we compared:** every perk below comes from the retailer's own registry page or help center, checked in September 2026. We did not open registries to test them. Registry terms change often, so check each retailer's current terms before you rely on a number.

## How Do Amazon, Target, and Babylist Registries Compare?

| Perk | Amazon | Target | Babylist |
|---|---|---|---|
| Completion discount | 15%, up to $300 in savings | 15% off storewide, redeemable twice | 15% on Babylist Shop items, up to $600 (on up to $4,000) |
| When it starts | 60 days before your arrival date, until 90 days after | About eight weeks before your expected arrival; expires in 6 months | 60 days before your expected arrival, until 90 days after |
| Registry must be active | 14 days | 14 days | 30 days |
| Welcome box | Free for Prime members: 10 unique items and over $10 purchased | $100 kit (samples plus Target Circle bonuses): 10 unique items and over $10 purchased; shipping and handling fees apply | Hello Baby Box: after a $30+ Babylist Shop purchase, $8.95 plus tax shipping |
| Membership needed | Prime, for the welcome box | Target Circle (free) | None stated |
| Returns on registry gifts | Up to 365 days on eligible gifts | "Easy returns" in store; check Target's current return policy for the window | Babylist Shop items within 9 months, unopened |
| Items from other stores | Not stated on the registry page | Not stated on the registry page | Yes: browser button, app, or any product URL |
| Cash and group gifts | Diaper fund; group gifting on pricier items | Not stated on the registry page | Cash funds, gift cards, favor requests, group gifts |

Sources: the [Amazon Baby Registry page](https://www.amazon.com/baby-reg/homepage), the [Target Baby Registry page](https://www.target.com/gift-registry/baby-registry), Target's help articles on the [15% completion coupon](https://www.target.com/help/article/000062273) and the [Baby Registry Welcome Kit](https://www.target.com/help/article/000062588), the [Babylist home page](https://www.babylist.com/), the [Babylist Registry Discount terms](https://www.babylist.com/registry-discount), and the [Babylist Returns Center](https://www.babylist.com/returns).

**Key point:** "15% off" is not the same deal at all three. Amazon's discount tops out at $300 in savings. Babylist's tops out at $600, but only on items Babylist itself sells, and excludes some brands. Target's is a storewide Target Circle offer you can use twice.

## What Are the Fine-Print Rules for Each Completion Discount?

**Amazon.** The registry must be active for at least 14 days. The primary registrant can use the discount from 60 days before the baby's arrival date to 90 days after, for up to $300 in savings.

**Target.** Registries must be active for at least 14 days before the offer is generated. The offer arrives about eight weeks before your expected arrival date, in your Target Circle offers. It is 15% off your next in-store or online purchase, redeemable up to two times, one offer per member and once in a 12-month period, and it expires in 6 months. Exclusions apply.

**Babylist.** The discount applies to items sold by Babylist.com, up to $4,000 in order value for a maximum of $600 per registry. It starts 60 days before your expected arrival date and expires 90 days after. The registry must be active for at least 30 days, only the registrant and partner can use it, and it cannot be combined with other offers. Babylist excludes gift cards, shipping fees, and several brands, including Nuna, Cradlewise, Guava Family, and Lovevery subscription kits.


## Who Gets a Free Welcome Box?

**Amazon:** you need an active Prime membership, a baby registry with 10 unique items, and over $10 of purchases from the registry, by you or by others.

**Target:** join Target Circle (free), create a baby registry, add 10 unique items, and have over $10 purchased from it. The kit is valued at $100, is a mix of samples and Target Circle bonuses, is claimed online, and is limited to one per year. Shipping and handling fees apply.

**Babylist:** the Hello Baby Box unlocks after a $30 or more purchase from the Babylist Shop, which a gift giver can make on your behalf. You then pay $8.95 plus tax for shipping.

**Pro tip:** welcome boxes are samples. Treat them as a bonus, not a reason to pick a registry, and check anything that goes near a baby's sleep space against our [recall checker](https://nurseryproof.com/recalls).

## Which Registry Is Best for You?

**Best for Prime members who shop mostly on Amazon:** Amazon. The welcome box is free with Prime, eligible registry gifts can be returned for up to 365 days, and a diaper fund lets guests contribute toward diapers.

**Best for in-store returns and storewide savings:** Target. The completion coupon works storewide, in store or online, and can be used twice. Target's registry page promises easy in-store returns; check its current return policy for the exact window before you rely on it.

**Best for mixing brands and stores:** Babylist. You can add items from any store by URL, and add cash funds, gift cards, favor requests, and group gifts. The completion discount has the highest cap, but only covers items sold by Babylist, and not every brand.


## Can You Use More Than One Registry?

Yes. For example, a Babylist registry that links out to other stores, plus an Amazon or Target registry for the perks.

- Keep one registry as the main list you share, so guests are not confused.
- Watch for duplicates across lists, since each store tracks purchases only on its own registry.
- Put the big-ticket items (car seat, stroller, sleep space) where the return window suits you.

**Bottom line:** pick the registry whose discount and returns match where you will actually buy the big items. For what to put on it, start with our [budget registry checklist](https://nurseryproof.com/blog/baby-registry-checklist-on-a-budget).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Which baby registry has the best completion discount?

All three give 15%. Babylist has the highest cap, $600 on up to $4,000 of Babylist Shop purchases, but excludes some brands. Amazon caps savings at $300. Target's is a storewide Target Circle offer you can redeem twice. The best one is the store where you will buy the remaining big items.

### Do you need Prime for the Amazon baby registry welcome box?

Yes. Amazon's registry page says the free welcome box needs an active Prime membership, a baby registry with 10 unique items, and over $10 of purchases from the registry by you or others.

### How long do you have to return registry gifts?

Amazon lists up to 365 days on eligible registry gifts. Babylist accepts returns of items bought directly from the Babylist Shop within 9 months, unopened and in original packaging. Target's registry page promises easy in-store returns; check Target's current return policy for its window.

### Can you add items from other stores to a registry?

Babylist says you can add items through its browser button, its app, or by pasting any product URL. Amazon's and Target's registry pages we checked do not describe adding items from other stores.

### Is the Target registry completion discount storewide?

Yes. Target's help center describes it as a 15% off storewide Target Circle offer, redeemable up to two times, generated about eight weeks before your expected arrival date, and expiring in 6 months. Exclusions apply.

---

*NurseryProof is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Registry perks change often; we checked each retailer's terms in September 2026.*

---
Cite as: NurseryProof, "Amazon vs Target vs Babylist Baby Registry (2026): Completion Discounts, Welcome Boxes, and Return Windows Compared", https://nurseryproof.com/blog/amazon-vs-target-vs-babylist-registry. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.